Jamaica 50th song

How can the people who dance to Soca when they socialize choose the Jamaica 50 song? The Jamaican class system strikes again as it did from year 1 and is now doing in year 50. Pathetic but par for the course.

You think that is pathetic..

Compare Downtown skyline with Panama.. and consider Downtown was the place to be on an international scale..

Now that is pathetic... criminally pathetic..

Back to your regular scheduled program.. Reggae VS Soca..

I really don't get this. I dance to Soca too and I assume many others.
        The fact that composition of the song is a big problem.
        It would have been better if it was a Soca song.

Shaggy is the producer and he has nothing to do with Soca.

Please explain why a soca song would be better to commemorate Jamaica's 50.

it would sound better than that song if it was Soca. That song has no theme or no beat.
            Please understand I WOULDN'T expect a soca song to be the theme song for Jamaica 50th aniversary and neither would I expect that(song).

What is the point about people dancing to Soca? You a boardman when Soca a play??? and if someone dance soca that mean they don't love or compose a good reggae? Can you now explain?

thanks in advance
            Last edited by Assasin; June 19, 2012, 02:18 PM.

Originally posted by Rudi View Post
              How can the people who dance to Soca when they socialize choose the Jamaica 50 song? The Jamaican class system strikes again as it did from year 1 and is now doing in year 50. Pathetic but par for the course.
              Isn't that a stretch Rudi?

it would sound better than that song if it was Soca. That song has no theme or no beat.
                Please understand I WOULDN'T expect a soca song to be the theme song for Jamaica 50th aniversary and neither would I expect that(song).

What is the point about people dancing to Soca? You a boardman when Soca a play??? and if someone dance soca that mean they don't love or compose a good reggae? Can you now explain?

thanks in advance
                Maybe this is too complicated for you. The topic here is the song representing Jamaica's 50. It stands to reason that said song should reflect the musical genres developed in Jamaica. There is nothing wrong with soca per se but as a song to represent Jamaica's 50. I repeat pathetic. I hope you now have a clue.

No I don't. Maybe you can explain your first attempt at the answer to me about Soca dancer choosing the song. LOL

Again this is very complicated for you. If you would take the time and read slowly you would realize that the point being made is that the people choosing symbols to represent Jamaica's music are being made by people who either have no knowledge or respect for Jamaica's music. This is reflected by the choices made. Read slowly you will get it.

So how the soca dancer come inna it again? You realise some of pioneer of Reggae music are also Calypso/soca players? You realise many of the reggae pioneers that you speak of also dipped into soca or other latin beats at some stage, even if a ghetto them come from?

The fact that they did a ******** poor job have nothing to do with Soca or the other water down genre they put in it. In any music form this is a poor representation and have to do more with the lack of effort, direction and organization more than anything else. You soone blame the trini them too.

Sigh. You head too tuff man. Me can't explain it no more.

Yow, yuh peeps nuh in charge now? Why the complaints?

One day you will realize that them all fulla crap.

My peeps no inna politics Big Man.

LoL

Easy nuh. Yuh tek di red pill den...

Extremely disappointed with the Shaggy song...wheel and come again..dat one nah guh mek it..well I hear dem sey they will put the songs to the public...good move cause mi sure di Shaggy song caan win