Gov't, Maroons must first apologise for slavery

• Gov't, Maroons must first apologise for slavery

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=1 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD><SPAN class=TopStory>Gov't, Maroons must first apologise for slavery</SPAN>
    <SPAN class=Subheadline></SPAN></TD></TR><TR><TD>
    Tuesday, March 06, 2007
    </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
    <P class=StoryText align=justify>Dear Editor,

I read Jean Lowrie-Chin's column of February 19 with interest and would like to make a few comments. The logic of the reparation debate suggests to me that the Jamaican government and the Maroon "state" should be the first to extend apologies and to take the practical steps to effect reparation in the interest of the descendants of the enslaved Africans in Jamaica.

The Jamaican government must do this because for the last 45 years that institution has been the real perpetrator of genocidal practices against the descendants of enslaved Africans. And the Jamaican government is the representative of the British monarch in whose name and interest Africans were enslaved. There is an unbroken line of oppression here.<P class=StoryText align=justify>The Maroons must do this because from the date of the treaty (1738) between themselves and the British monarch they became active participants in the slavery enterprise by hunting runaway slaves for bounty. The historical record is replete with the bloodlust of the Maroons, which bloodlust is very much in evidence in their suppression of the Takki rebellion (circa 1766), the Sam Sharpe rebellion (1831), and the Paul Bogle rebellion (1865).

If the debaters do not acknowledge the import of this logic then they are not even sincere about the debate, much less the struggle for reparation.<P class=StoryText align=justify>
    Aduku Addae
    country_bwoy1@yahoo.com

RE: Gov't, Maroons must first apologise for slavery

Karl (3/12/2007)

The Maroons must do this because from the date of the treaty (1738) between themselves and the British monarch they became active participants in the slavery enterprise by hunting runaway slaves for bounty.

This is indeed a fact, and many slaves had to hide from the Maroons who had become bounty hunters. Some of my relatives have no respect for the Maroons, and essence claim that the Maroons sold out to the British when they signed a peace treaty. It was the Maroons who captured Paul Bogle and delivered him to the British.

Divided and conquered by 30pieces of silver. Unlike the Native Americans.

The Maroons should watch the movie "300". Nuff said.

mi waiting for it to come on DVD

looks like a very good movie. right up my alley (lord of the rings, Kingdom of heaven cho mi blame JBC for this with their Sunday matinees as a kid).

What nonsense! To suggest that the govt. of Jamaica or the Maroons did nearly as much "damage" as the govts. of the slave-trading countries is asinine!

There are usually 2 complicit parties to a transaction involving the purchase of slaves at the point of origin.

Both need to explain themselves and issue the neccessary apologies and reparations.

I hear a good deal about the purchasers.. not too much about the Vendors.. this creates a problem.

This too is crap! We are acting as if slaves were simply bought out of some west African superstore and that many were not hunted and schemed into slavery. Furthermore, did the selllers have any idea about the treatment their goods were going to be subjected to?

hehehe
                Furthermore, did the selllers have any idea about the treatment their goods were going to be subjected to?
                Alrighty then!

Ben is out of is depth on this

one. True there wasn't any stores, what happened is that many used this as way to exile their enemies thinking they got rid of a problem for good. The Euros did attack kingdoms to acquire slaves. I think people should do serious research before they open their mouth on this subject. Mo you seem to have a better grasp here :P

Approximately what percentage of the Atlantic Slave trade can be attributed to 'Euros attacking Kingdoms'... which Euros and what Kingdoms were attacked ?

I may be out of my depth but that seems like the most inefficient and costly way for European traders to obtain slaves in Africa.. in fact borderline stupid.. but I am open to revelation.. please expound JAWGE..

Okay pull up a chair: You ask what kingdoms?

This shows that you are of the belief that there were no kingdoms in Africa. You seem to believe that there were these savages who were willing to give up their fellow men for beads and glass. The Ghanian empire (Gold coast)was under attack it's economic life line (trading routes) were being constantly attacked by arabs. The gun boats of the Eruos finally subdued ghana to its will in the slave trade. The portuguese were fighting hard to colonize what is now called Angola. Ben why should I sit here and lecture you on information that you can gather for yourself. Your first mistake is to think that Europe was a power at the start of the slave trade (hence your talk of costs and efficiency) there were thriving economies in Asia and africa that Europe could not hold a candle to at the time. Did you know of the pilgrimage of the King of Mali that devalued the price of gold (gave it away freely on his way to the middle East)? It was said this was what attracted the Euros to the african interior.First w research why the Euros speak of a "dark age" then find out if the whole world was in decadence or if Empires and economies were thriving at this time. Only then you will know why the Euroscame to Africa and how the transatlantic slave trade started. BTW ask yourself why were the Euros so desperate to have gold from the "new world"? You can then come to me for dialogue. BTW did you know that Marco Polo was being laughed at in China because he had nothing to trade (based on his weak economy)?

Jawge (3/14/2007)The Ghanaian empire (Gold coast)
                        Jawge, if you are going to talk African history, please make sure you are not confusing The Ghanaian Empire with modern day Ghana (Gold Coast). They are two different suppen. Modern day Ghana borrowed the name from the long lost African Empire. . .

Anyway, please continue teacher (screech&gt;&gt;&gt;pull up chair).
                        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Marco Polo ?

But ah whe di.. yuh can read ?

Let me try again...

<SPAN id=_ctl1_ctlTopic_ctlPanelBar_ctlTopicsRepeater__c tl3_lblFullMessage>Approximately what percentage of the Atlantic Slave trade can be attributed to 'Euros attacking Kingdoms'... which Euros and what Kingdoms were attacked ?</SPAN>

<SPAN>And please provide a reference...</SPAN>

<SPAN>I do not write this to exonerate the African chiefs who sold slaves to the Europeans. The fact we all have to bear in mind is that the Europeans never launched a direct, frontal attack on Africa. In all the places they conquered, they first divided the people by looking for a Judas among them. With the promise of material benefits, such Judas' are always the instrument used to destroy their own societies. For those who would like to know more about this, I strongly recommend The destruction of Black Civilization, by Chancellor Williams - published by Third World Press. We can see this trend continuing today in Angola, where Savimbi is serving the purpose of destroying his fatherland, in the interests of those who make their living from the misfortunes of other people.</SPAN>

When the Portuguese arrived in West Africa, they found a thriving economy which had already developed its own bustling trading centers. Before long, a vigorous trade opened up between the Portuguese and the West Africans. Slaves were only one of a great variety of exports, and guns were only one of a large variety of imports. One of the ways in which the slave trade came to cripple the West African economy was that slaves became almost the exclusive African export. The more the Africans sought to fulfill the Europeans' thirst for slaves, the more they needed guns with which to procure slaves, and to protect themselves from being captured and sold into slavery. Therefore, the Euro-African trade, instead of further stimulating the African economy, actually limited production of many items and drained it of much of its most productive manpower.

The rulers, who had voluntarily and unwittingly involved themselves in this gigantic trade, soon found themselves trapped. Those who wanted to eliminate or reduce the trade in slaves and who preferred to develop other aspects of a trading economy, found themselves helpless. A ruler who would not provide the Europeans with the slaves they desired was then bypassed by all the European traders. Besides losing the revenue from this trade, his own military position was weakened. Any ruler who did not trade slaves for guns could not have guns. Without guns, he would have difficulty in protecting himself and his people. Any ruler or people who could not provide adequate self-defense could be captured and sold into slavery. Once begun, the Africans found themselves enmeshed in a vicious system from which there seemed to be no escape. The only possibility for escape would have been the development of some kind of African coalition, but each petty ruler as too concerned with his own power to be able to contemplate federated activity. European greed fed African greed, and vice a versa.

Dat mek sense to me.. but I await revelations from Jawge... regarding the "Stupid" Euro Traders that resorted to the hard way.. maybe out of a peculiar work ethic..

<DIV>You just proved my point. Thanks!</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Equating the Africans involvement with the brutality of the slave owners only seeks to absolve the latter. Does such a collaboration not exist in probably every case where reparations were paid? Then why not for slavery?</DIV>

Ben ah tell you that if you are

stepping to me, you must come full and no half stepping. The destruction of the Black civilization? poor yuh that book was a requirement for anyone that did a black studies course at the school I attended. The premise of my argument was that at the start of the slave trade Europe was not a power economically or militarily (they wouldn't tell you this at Campion), hence the only reason why Europe had a foothold in Africa was because of infighting and attacks on its trade routes. You ask of african Kingdoms? Go to pg.148-155 in William Chancellor's book. To see the decline of the Ghanaian Empire go to pg.195-201. To understand the Portuguese penetration go pg.257-272. refernce was made to Marco Polo to show that the Euros had no economy at that period and had to humble themselves to greater powers. BTW the kingdom of Mali was the centre of learning at this time scholars from all over would travel there to sit and learn (akin to the US today) OH also Pythagoras theorem was not orginal the Egyptian papyrus showed that this was being used 3000 years before the greeks. Please note though that the greeks never claimed it but always praised the africans for it. It wasn't until the height of the slave trade that this was reversed. The same way the black saints were pulled out of the catholic church (even today the black madonna is still part of a ritual in Eurasia). I hope you knew that there were black popes long ago and the guy from nigeria that was in line the other day wasn't a first. Ben you need to get back to the states and draw some of the powerful knowledge that is here. Running around in Ja saying you went to good school is tantamount to a joke, the stuff given to you at Campion was just a crutch for you to lean on in the colony.

If you have anymore books on black history put it up and I will indulge you.