Cricket World Cup Opening ceremony A Promotion of Jamaica or the Caribbean?...

• Cricket World Cup Opening ceremony A Promotion of Jamaica or the Caribbean?...

Who saw the opening ceremony last night? there was a discussion on i9.95 FM this morning(going on now in a way ) about the opening ceremony more promoting jamaica rather than the diversity of the Caribbean . Several callers expressed their disgust , this bring us right back to what ah does alway say caribbean unity is a myth. Umbala stated that Jamaican Prime Minister "Sista P" said Jamaica is the most island in the Caribbean she got up and start clapping .... Again did not see the show but was not shocked at all !!!!! everyman look out fuh the own (except trinidadians not all). when we host carifesta everyone perform not a one sided thing...

Remember in 1979 the netball competion remember Williams say 1 from 10 leave 0....

RE: Cricket World Cup Opening ceremony A Promotion of Jamaica or the Caribbean?...

I did not see the opening ceremony, and don't get so petty! You think it made sense to just fly people from all over the Caribbean to participate in an opening ceremony?

RE: Cricket World Cup Opening ceremony A Promotion of Jamaica or the Caribbean?...

I saw the whole show. It was very well done and impressive. I was proud to be West Indian and moreso, Jamaican. Let the naysayers talk what they want. If Patrick Manning had an ounce of sense he would have tried to get the opening and possible some serious games. When will you stop the bickering?? Celebrate success which the opening was. Never before has the World Cup opening had such a showcaseand of our Caribbean culture and yes, JAMAICAN culture. Go watch the tape. There were artistes from the whole Caribbean.

Too bad...

I saw most of the show myself and I am not surprised that Nam's response is as it is, nor other negative comments that I overheard and were in fact said to me... which went "allyuh Jamaican don' know it have odder islans.. blah blah blah"; oh just shut up an go heng yuh head whe de sun don' shine was my inner response; but I didn't say much other than " so what" " the show was in Jamaica" " whe unuh expek? a Trinidadian show?" ; after all you have to have some diplomacy.

The fact is, as Jack Warner said, the locals in T&T NOT even putting on any kind of cultural shows/ village to showcase their own culture during the matches being held in T&T.. "so unuh tap complain".

BTW it was the VP of the WICB who said Jamaica was the most beautiful of the nine host islands and I do not think he is a Jamaican; obviously he has visited them all and along with a whole lot of truth also pandered to the largely Jamaican audience... so flipping what? if it was in T&T dem woudda talk bout "greatest show on earth reh reh"; kill wi wid soca an chutney; have plenty carnival parade a gwaan etc. etc. The fact is JA got the opening ceremony; any complaints tek it to unuh respective PMs.

It indeed was largely a Jamaican concert, at least fifty percent but nobody coudda seh dem get lef out including a couple Irish acts and South African (that I saw)... the show itself started slow, the TV feed was very bad but as the show went on the sound improved and with the setting of the sun the show picked up pace and was quite entertaining.

One criticism I thought was Sean Paul's choice of song in his medley when he sang/deejayed about "...you mekkin me feel HORNY..." and "...givin me blue balls..."

Other than that I wouldn't say fantastic, but the small minders will always complain.

If the small minders would only recognize that it is in THEIR very complaining that the insularity reigns.... SSDD.

pr

Naminirt, with people like you it doesn't even help to watch the tape as Exile said; as unuh already mek up unuh min'... viz. check you reaction and YOU NEVA EVEN SEE DI TAPE...kiss teet

pr

Mr man it is the West Indies cricket team not the jamaican....

when trinidad host carifesta it is not one .sided

Other than that I wouldn't say fantastic, but the small minders will always complain.
                I would add to that the small island mentality. Any of the caribbean nations who hosted the opening cermony you would expect the show to have a heavy influence of their culture. It is just the way it is. I have not seen the show, but whether Namishut believes it or not, Jamaica is the most culturally rich nation in the West Indies. Our culture transend national boundaries well outside the Caribbean. Why do you think South Africa is looking to Jamaica to help in putting on their 2010 World Cup show four years from now?

The bickering will always continue as long as T&T feel that they are kings of the Caribbean. As my Trini roomate in college used to always remind me, T&T is the financial capital of the Caribbean. I never disputed that position with him, but sometimes you have to come to the rude awakening, money does not rule everything.
                "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Nam, r u taking cheap drugs? When ANYONE hosts Carifesta it is not "one-sided". What we are talking about is an opening ceremony of a sporting event...not a Caribbean cultural festival. Cho man!

pr

<DIV>I saw the opening ceremony LIVE. Yes, it was a Jamaican show. What?!? The fact is, no other Caribbean country could have hosted the opening ceremony. It was a natural fit. Reggae music runs the Caribbean. Fact!</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>But don't despair. There were some highlights from other countries, mainly T&amp;T, and rightly so. Did we really expect artistes from St. Lucia to take centre stage?!? Alison Hinds (Roll it Gyal) was simply great, David Rudder wid him one song was fantastic, Arrow (but must!), Marchel Montana (sp?), unnu steelpan get featured, unnu stilt walkers, unnu carnival costumes. What else unnu want?!?! Come to think of it, unnu get too much!</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Where were you, Nyamdirt, when T&amp;T pull dii LPG rug from unda wi foot? How yuh never bash regionalism then?</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Yes, Jamaica didn't get the finals, but I dare say we got the best package. The opening ceremony where all the teams were present and is featured all over the world, The West Indies are playing all their first round matches at "home" in Kingston. They are not guaranteed to play anywhere else!</DIV>

Tell me suppen Mo, where is T&amp;T? Is it in Jamaica?
                      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

<DIV>
                        Tilla (3/13/2007)Tell me suppen Mo, where is T&amp;T? Is it in Jamaica?
                        </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>T&amp;T is a rogue Jamaican parish off the south-east coast of Jamaica. </DIV>