• The British officer who changed policing in Jamaica

read full at http://m.guardian.co.uk/world/2012/j...d&type=article

The international operation against Coke was already under way under Shields's watch, involving the US, Canada and the UK. Coke's stronghold was Tivoli Gardens, a notorious district of Kingston where police seldom ever ventured. "I wanted to treat it like any other community, but it was very difficult to do so because the backlash was such. Why was that? Because four years earlier Adams had gone in there and more than 20 people had been killed. Not many communities had lost 26 people in two days, as had happened when Adams and his men went in there. So of course I can understand the sensitivities. But we were forced to treat it with almost kid gloves."

It's very hard, Shields explains, for outsiders to appreciate the sheer power a don like Coke wielded over his community. "It's criminal terrorism. People literally live in fear. If they run a shop, they have to pay protection. If the don wanted their youngest daughter, they would have to give her up so he could take her virginity. The community was completely under the control of the local don, and the police were deeply frightened about going in there."

Following the killing of four officers in 2005, Shields learned that the gunmen were hiding in Tivoli Gardens, and mounted an operation. "Within a matter of minutes, Bruce Golding, the local constituency MP and then leader of the opposition, "was on the streets, along with the mayor, saying what are you doing here, why are you invading our community? They said that to us, the police." Shields shakes his head in disbelief. "Of all the dons, Coke was in a league of his own."

Golding subsequently became prime minister, and his reluctance to extradite Coke to the US led to the street war that broke out when the don was finally taken. Shields was often approached by politicians who seemed strangely keen to befriend him – "and I was never really sure what their motivation was. We had suspicions over particular politicians, who we thought were too close to criminals."

Others in authority weren't wildly enthusiastic about supporting Shields. "Well, without going into too much detail – because I still live here – some police officers definitely tried to undermine our work. Slowing processes down. Not turning up to meetings. Refusing to promote officers we were happy with. Some senior officers literally wouldn't even speak when we entered a room. It was a small vociferous minority who just didn't want us there."

Clearly Babylon propaganda

The international operation against Coke was already under way under Shields's watch, involving the US, Canada and the UK. Coke's stronghold was Tivoli Gardens, a notorious district of Kingston where police seldom ever ventured. "I wanted to treat it like any other community, but it was very difficult to do so because the backlash was such. Why was that? Because four years earlier Adams had gone in there and more than 20 people had been killed. Not many communities had lost 26 people in two days, as had happened when Adams and his men went in there. So of course I can understand the sensitivities. But we were forced to treat it with almost kid gloves."
    Fooliniss. Tivoli was juss like any odda place... Juss aks Sass...im ave community links dere an im naw believe nuh hype :

It's very hard, Shields explains, for outsiders to appreciate the sheer power a don like Coke wielded over his community. "It's criminal terrorism. People literally live in fear. If they run a shop, they have to pay protection. If the don wanted their youngest daughter, they would have to give her up so he could take her virginity. The community was completely under the control of the local don, and the police were deeply frightened about going in there."
    What power of Coke?? More anti - JLP propaganda. Dudus nuh diffrant fram nuh odda "community leada" Unnu cyan tun up di hype eeh

Following the killing of four officers in 2005, Shields learned that the gunmen were hiding in Tivoli Gardens, and mounted an operation. "Within a matter of minutes, Bruce Golding, the local constituency MP and then leader of the opposition, "was on the streets, along with the mayor, saying what are you doing here, why are you invading our community? They said that to us, the police." Shields shakes his head in disbelief. "Of all the dons, Coke was in a league of his own."
    Lie dem ah tell pon Dudus an di Chess Masta

Golding subsequently became prime minister, and his reluctance to extradite Coke to the US led to the street war that broke out when the don was finally taken. Shields was often approached by politicians who seemed strangely keen to befriend him – "and I was never really sure what their motivation was. We had suspicions over particular politicians, who we thought were too close to criminals."
    Dis ah nuh nutten... di mose Bruce did duh was to protect the interests of a Jamaican unfairly targeted by illegal MOUs... aks Lazie

Others in authority weren't wildly enthusiastic about supporting Shields. "Well, without going into too much detail – because I still live here – some police officers definitely tried to undermine our work. Slowing processes down. Not turning up to meetings. Refusing to promote officers we were happy with. Some senior officers literally wouldn't even speak when we entered a room. It was a small vociferous minority who just didn't want us there."
    Shields... please read the book "How to Win Friends & Influence People"

Sekkle yuhself

Yuh coulda chat till yuh blue, Sass will never believe that Dudus and TG were in a league of their own.

Dat Noice!!

Dat mean more time and material fi mek joke offa dat lunacy. Rum Bar tuh di Werl!

What?

If the don wanted their youngest daughter, they would have to give her up so he could take her virginity

That's been going on for a long time in Jamaica. Skeng, you might have missed many of the threads on this subject.

BTW, that British individual was an average cop in England with little or no accomplishments & it was a poor hiring decision.

i know the old days............but not in the 2000s

long man from Hingland wheh skin ketch a fiyah fi di local produce juss come and waan try tell wi bout Tivaarli..??

some ah wi nuh fraid a white-man like puss...

fi summady wheh nuh love talk bout History.. yuh tun History Professah now..

Bwaay Ben you have certainly changed your tune from way back when. I shall put it down to an honest evolution on your part and nothing else. 2012 the year progress started. All aboard Toot Toot.

who name Ben ???

lol...

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

I rest my case. Welcome aboard. Toot toot.

lol

2010 ah nuh history until nuff book write bout it..plus movie an di sequel pon top ah dat

Suh ah Fair Game fi Don1 opine pon