• LETTER OF THE DAY - Holness' Arguments On CCJ, Queen Ridicul

Published: Wednesday | June 6, 2012 12 Comments
    THE EDITOR, Sir:

I was very cross to hear Andrew Holness, in his Budget presentation of May 31, 2012, say the Opposition will not support immediate efforts to remove the Queen of England as head of our country, nor support efforts to develop the Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ) unless poverty can be alleviated.

I think that this is a ridiculous statement. It is this type of attitude that is blocking growth and development in the Caribbean.

So many of the decisions taken by the largely male leadership in the Caribbean stunts the growth of our nations, but somehow leaders don't seem to see this.

In my view, it really would be helpful if leadership in Jamaica not use tit-for-tat and strong-arm tactics to prevent advancement and progress. I think that it is a disgrace that our people swear allegiance to the Queen and her descendants. These people are the beneficiaries of the legacy where their ancestors massacred our ancestors by the millions during enslavement, colonialism and other forms of racist terrorism.

They also hold the legacy of developing racist systems to hurt, degrade and harm black people. To this day, the Queen and her descendants have done nothing to correct or apologise for these crimes against African humanity, from which she and Europeans as a whole benefited.

I am, therefore, disgusted by Mr Holness' utterances about blocking efforts to remove the Queen as head of state.

The removal of the Queen and the demand for reparative justice should be an urgent priority for any self-respecting nation which holds the memory of its ancestors dear.

Regarding the CCJ, our country should become independent of those who formerly enslaved us. We surely, by this time in our growth and development, can manage our legal affairs ourselves and make our own decisions.

Leadership in Jamaica and across the Caribbean should be about educating the population about why these matters are important to our development, instead of fighting against each other and being petty and small-minded.

So, Mr Holness, rethink your position. Do not oppose just for the sake of it and to score petty points.

NZINGHA ASSATA

anzingha@hotmail.com

Not ah fan ah di Queen miself, but dis is not a priority in di grand scheme ah tings

All me know is we fi put some tax on Caricom goods.

Okay ... but you do expect them to do the same with J'can products .... right?

Do we have any export? Right now we taxing the heck out of our manufacturers so why not their's?

This is pure distracting samfie.

Anything to deflect from the fact that Jamaica is run by (new backra master) parasites who work in the interest of bigger parasites (old and new Backras)!

Sochal contrak? Ah wah dat. Republicand time now and free up di mantu dem, dat is priority...as well as cricket. No matter bout literacy and people affording protien in dem diet! Pool deck haffi build fi di new backras! LoL

Who is distracting? The letter writer? Do you know the person? What about his comments?

Guvvament is distracting.. They all do it. Dat is what GOJ good for.

Anything but face the real issues...ANYTHING. I wont fall for it anymore.

Dont know the letter writer. i could be SkengD for all I know.

Nuff party hacks sole job is to write to editah or call into Missa Perkins.

What YOU need to realize that they fully intend to maintain the status quo. They will resist any plan to move Jamaica forward materially.

Who is they? JLPNP!

Sweet mouth and stabs in the back. Fyah bun!

. i could be SkengD for all I know.
                    s.
                    now i c y u konfuse

maybe u or maudid

the next 50 years wwe going be saying the same-thing...........in the 60s they said the same

Yes hackee (minus the weed)!

All of this argument about removing the Queen is NONSENSE to my ears, when there remains more pressing matters.

The rabble rousers need to go start working in the fields that are parching and burning!

It reminds me of 1978 (first time visiting Montreal) and all the talk was for the province of Quebec to secede from Canada; and thereafter every couple of years the ranting starts again. But as of today, the province of Quebec is still a part of the country called Canada.

Pure samfie.

For example, wi cyaaan find small money fi Finsac Report, but dem a propose Republic which may cost up to $1b. The cost factor is not even in the same ballpark.

Dem fi guh try charge di Queen GCT when she and har faumbilly visit. LoL

Lol...easy with the hype....why do I "need to realize"? Furthermore, how you arrive at my needs?