Monty celebrates 50 years of great music with Birthday Bash

• Monty celebrates 50 years of great music with Birthday Bash

Monty Alexander, Tarrus Riley, Dean Fraser To Perform At NYC Benefit Concert

NEW YORK, NY, U.S.A. - Jazz great Monty Alexander will join friends Dean Fraser and Tarrus Riley at a special benefit concert on June 6, 2012, at Merkin Concert Hall at Kaufman Center, New York City.

Proceeds from the concert will benefit Heartbeats of the World, a 501(c) (3) nonprofit organization that serves to enrich the lives of children, adolescents, and women in Jamaica by providing educational opportunities to address poverty and unemployment. The concert will also celebrate the tenth anniversary of Heartbeats of the World, which was founded by its President, Dr. Karlene ChinQuee and Monty's 50th anniversary in the music industry.

In a career spanning five decades, Alexander has successfully bridged the worlds of jazz, pop, and reggae. His latest album, Harlem- Kingston Express sat comfortably atop the Jazz World Chart for fourteen weeks, and this critically acclaimed set was nominated for a Grammy award in the Best Reggae Album category this year.

http://news.caribseek.com/index.php/...enefit-concert

Simply one of the best jazz pianists of all times. Cross over to his reggae roots effortlessly especially when he is playing alongside Ranglin, Dunbar, and Shakespear. Great stuff. Caught up with him at the Blue Notes while in the Big Apple recently. Great show.

Arguable whether he's among the best of all times... But I agree with your opinion.

At the very least he's JC's finest Jazz artiste.. and a nice guy to boot

So you were at the Blue Note show....noice!

Love Monty Alexander. Have several of his CD's.

Never seen him perform live. Hope i will eventually get that opportunity.

I miss living in the tri-state area for the opportunity to see great acts...example like his birthday bash.

Happy Birthday Monty

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R1RMdWWVlEM

Still have some good acts pass through ATL. You just have to find out where and when.

I hear Anita Baker will be here this month. I am thinking about going.

June 6 damn!!!! If I had a lite more lead in time I woulda try mek the trek!!!

Monty and dean .... one place!??? Damn damn damn damn damn! Anyone going?

Monty is pretty damn good don. don't hold his JC connections agaist him. I don't. I really like his combinations with Earnest Ranglin on the Memories of Barber Mack CD.

June 6 damn!!!! If I had a lite more lead in time I woulda try mek the trek!!!

Monty and dean .... one place!??? Damn damn damn damn damn! Anyone going?
                Not me..I have a likkle conflict with a HS graduation event

LOL...mi hear yuh bredrin

Monty & Ernest Ranglin Take on Don D Confuscious

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j1GHT0XTGU8

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

wikid fi real

Well is a about time!!!! congrats

yuhzimi ... late bloomer