• For My Dancehall Friends

Ladies, have some self-respect

Published: Friday | June 1, 2012

THE EDITOR, Sir:
    This is an open letter to the women of Jamaica.

As I travel across the country, I have been taking note of some recent dancehall session posters from Trelawny through to St James, and it is alarming that these sessions are held in the name of entertainment.

Alarming because of the phrases being used to promote these sessions such as "divas and pimps", "skin out", "dash out yuh hole", "girls gone wild", "wifey stand up, matey walk out".

Ladies, for a brief moment, I want you to reflect on the messages and action that these phrases are really promoting. The dictionary defines 'diva' as a great female opera singer, while a pimp is a man who lives off the earnings of a prostitute.

As a female, when you 'skin out', what do you use for covering after the act? Regarding "dash out yuh hole", the dictionary defines a hole as an empty space in a solid body, or an opening in and through something. Is that what most of you have become - an empty space that is filled by wining, bubbling and outgrinding each other?

Why have so many of our girls driven by wild, intensely eager excitement, gone missing?

How long you will continue to contribute to this way of life in the name of entertainment?

JOY FRASER
    Montego Bay

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2.../letters3.html

You see Historian...the immorality (though not in the form of entertainment) trickle-down from the top. Ever see how members of the government conduct themselves?

They are in no position to instill morals to the masses; so Jamaica will continue to slip into the abyss.

thank you HL. Let us blame the goverment and parents(who are in our generation) first. If nobody was looking at the poster or if they were been fined, you think them woulda put it up?

See it at carnival too. But maybe eh has never passed through a jouvert

yes,,,those pictures a on the raunchy side too.

The irony is that I am slightly more tolerant...maybe I see the carnival pictures more of an art-form??

Of course you are more tolerant of light skinned people skinning out to Soca music...that is how society works

Coming from the mouth of the brown-man ambassadah

And you know the hue aspect did not cross my mind. I lumped in the Brazilian carnival art-form too. It is filled with dark skinned people skinning out too....

HL stop lying and go watch the USA El Salvadore game. You guys have no problem with the skinning out as long as it is done to a soca or samba beat. If I was mean spirited I would say is because that's you can attempt to dance to. However, since I am not mean spirited I won't say it.

ok rudi

so Hl is only soca and samba you can drop legs to? Expand your horizons man .

lol ! woiee !

On a serious note.. Carnival is cultural.. jumping out of a tree to land on a woman private parts is.. well.. not..

You know that both in Trini and Jamaica there has been the equivelant of the tree jumping thing. i.e. actions that lovers of soca and calypso found well..not cultural.

stap tell lie pon Soca !

Go get something and wave.