Jamaican dollar slide to 2 yr low against US dollar

• Jamaican dollar slide to 2 yr low against US dollar

Consumers are facing the prospect of more price increases -- this time due to the slide in the value of the Jamaican dollar against the American currency.
    Following several days of depreciation the local currency hit a two year low yesterday with the average selling rate for the US dollar passing the 88 dollar mark.
    It last traded at this level in June 2010.
    President of the Jamaica Manufacturers' Association Brian Penngelley says this has implications for production costs.

http://rjrnewsonline.com/news/local/jamaican-dollar-slide-2-yr-low-against-us-dollar

i think the message here is that jamaicans would rather suffer under the pnp than the jlp.

Funny how nuff people say life under JLP was too hard.
      What things change or them gone inna crab hole???

We have problems and we better start holding them accountable or else...

...they should stop calling the Jamaican currency the Dollar. A good name would be 'shells'.

" Jamaican currency the Dollar" One of the biggest mistake that the Government made at the time, any name but the Dollar, and add insult Jamaicans use to brag how their money was bigger than the US Dollar, bwoy government, nah nuh head..

I remember when we got 75cents for a US $1.00.

Then it was a big (thing) when the exchange rate was 2:1. At 5:1 Jamaicans started to wonder what was happening. It was about that time I paid off my student loan to BOJ. It was easy.

There are folks and systems that are extremely happy that the devaluation is constant. This includes the World bank and IMF