• Let's rise above political trust deficit - Phillips

Let's rise above political trust deficit - Phillips

Published: Wednesday | May 30, 2012 14 Comments

Dr Peter Phillips, minister of finance and planning, addresses a Gleaner Editors' Forum at the newspaper's North Street, central Kingston offices yesterday. - Ricardo Makyn/Staff Photographer

Daraine Luton, Senior Staff Reporter
    AMID CRITICISMS of a deepening trust deficit between Government and the people, Jamaica's minister of finance, Dr Peter Phillips, says the country's political leaders should exchange populism for the greater good of the country.
    "The real challenge of our politics is to be able to debate more of the things that are of national interest and subordinate the partisan competition, which just allows everybody to take the easy populist route," Phillips said during a Gleaner Editors' Forum at the newspaper's North Street offices yesterday.
    The minister said populist politics has sapped the hopes of many citizens who dream of a great Jamaica.
    "No doubt there's a great trust deficit between the population and the political establishment for understandable reasons. We have been in the circumstance of no progress and shattered dreams for so long that many people have become cynical, and that is understandable also.
    "The fact of its [trust deficit's] existence is not going to absolve us of the need to transcend it."
    The Simpson Miller administration has come under fire for many of the tax measures since Phillips announced a $19.3-billion tax package in the House of Representatives last Thursday.
    Among the unpopular measures is the imposition of general consumption tax (GCT) on some basic food items and on printed materials, including textbooks.
    Phillips also announced an increase in the rate of GCT for electricity from 10 per cent to 16.5 per cent. The move runs counter to an election promise to remove GCT from electricity.
    Instead of removing the tax, which was charged for consumption above 200kWh, the Government has increased the threshold above which the tax can be charged to 300kWh.
    Phillips said 90 per cent of JPS residential customers will not be paying tax on electricity. It represents an increase from 76 per cent when the threshold was 200kWh. He said, however, that registered businesses could benefit from rebates.
    Delivered on promise
    Yesterday, the finance minister continued to defend the Government's action, saying it represented a delivery on the commitment.
    "There is no doubt that in the election campaign, the priority concern was the impact, particularly on the struggling middle class, that was being pushed down," Phillips said.
    He added: "Political communication in settings of large numbers is a challenge because it often relies on the symbolic and, therefore, the absolute - black and white."
    In the meantime, Phillips said the Government's job now was to explain to Jamaicans why it has taken some of the unpopular decisions.
    "We can explain as honestly, as sincerely, as comprehensively as we can, what the basis of the various decisions were and the public will decide," the minister said.
    At the same time, Phillips said the country's current situation requires patriotic Jamaicans to unite to rescue the country, which he said is on the edge of survival.
    "What we really need is almost a rebirth of the national movement in its heyday, something that can unite us around the prospect of survival as a viable nation state, because I think that is at risk at this point in time."
    daraine.luton@gleanerjm.com

ah bwoy .....! whey karl seh ... "dog chase cyar dog ketch cyar dog nuh know whey fi duh wid cyar"

Here is what he should have said...

"I realize that all we pols play games and that we have engendered a lack of trust. Wea are as guilty if not more so than the other side, but now things stay a way. Things real bad and game time needs to be over now.

Thus instead of the usual false plea, I am taking responsibility for my Guvvament and party and am going to take tangible and transparent actions to foster detente, cohesion, co-operation and fairplay with the Opposition and I invite them to view our actions, test our sincerity and find common ground with us to ensure we pilot Jamaica thru the very turbulent waters we find our selves in at the moment."

Nuh worry Peter is NOT the PM of Ja. Nanny P will come forth and speak to her people.

Why didn't she speak to her people BEFORE announcing the tax package...like she chided the JLP for not doing in 2009?

It matters not , seeing that it's HER people.

Okay so she can lie to HER people with impunity...I see..when HER people start block road yuh will know...

What me worry?

Peter P HAS spoken, or perhaps you missed the original post made by Exile???

And its not only HER people, its OUR people, and its Peter P's people as well.

She never did so well in her first opportunity to speak about the economy (Laud have Mercy and Greek debt). Hopefully she can come better and have a calm with the Jamaican people and the international markers who are looking down.

Why didn't she speak to her people BEFORE announcing the tax package...like she chided the JLP for not doing in 2009?

- Bricktop, a previous post in this thread
                    then...

[/quote]
                    Okay so she can lie to HER people with impunity...I see..when HER people start block road yuh will know...

Here is what he should have said...

"I realize that all we pols play games and that we have engendered a lack of trust. Wea are as guilty if not more so than the other side, but now things stay a way. Things real bad and game time needs to be over now.

Thus instead of the usual false plea, I am taking responsibility for my Guvvament and party and am going to take tangible and transparent actions to foster detente, cohesion, co-operation and fairplay with the Opposition and I invite them to view our actions, test our sincerity and find common ground with us to ensure we pilot Jamaica thru the very turbulent waters we find our selves in at the moment."
                      Willi fi PM!!!!

LOL... dis sound like Moses aggo come tawk an tek wi cross di raging sea.... Part it Mumma P