Northern Caribbean University & Mandeville tuh di Werl!!

• Northern Caribbean University & Mandeville tuh di Werl!!

Good, paradigm-shifting talk from this guy. Time for private sector incentives and public/private partnerships to drive an Education & Knowledge Industry and an Innovation Economy.... incentivize tech & creative industry start ups, incubator and co-working facilities etc etc etc

********!! Dat sound suspiciously like Digital Yard.... NCU, wi deh yah fi unnu ....memba mi tole yuh

Make Mandeville a university/college town, says educator
    Alicia Sutherland
    Monday, May 21, 2012

MANDEVILLE, Manchester — Pro-chancellor of International University of the Caribbean (IUC) and immediate past president of the Manchester Chamber of Commerce Keith Smith said that it is time that Mandeville be officially recognised as a university/college town.
    He made the call at a meeting of the Rotary Club of Mandeville at the Golf View Hotel last week.

"University/college towns are so designated because of the presence of the educational institutions; they impact on the economic and social life of the town. Many university/college towns have become centres of technological research and innovative start ups," said Smith.

He said that Mandeville-based institutions such as Northern Caribbean University (NCU), formerly West Indies College, have a history of providing tertiary level education to international students. The location of the town is at the centre of the island and the highway programme and the possibility of rail service will facilitate travel in and out of the town. There are currently a significant number of educational institutions "with national and international record and reputation".

He added that there is available space in the form of government lands and mined out restored land for the building and expansion of the university/college town. In addition, the crime rate is low and the climate is ideal in Mandeville, which has a population of returning residents with international experience and culture.

There are "substantial" medical facilities and commercial outlets which will be enhanced by the coming of MegaMart. Plus, the presence of Government entities such as the Ministry of Education.

The IUC pro-chancellor said that in order to promote the concept and make it real, the political leadership in the area and the business community need to support the idea through proactive measures.

"The commercial sector, with the participation of the Manchester Chamber of Commerce, should provide discount and credit facilities to university/college students. Government and/or bauxite reclaimed lands should be transferred to or long-leased at peppercorn rent to universities and colleges consistent with approved development plans by such institutions," he said.

Smith also argued that packaging and branding of Mandeville as a university town... through our foreign missions, could be developed in the context of education tourism.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...#ixzz1vWPK8Lmy

BTW just spoke to Kimroy, him say things a gwan good so far. Him couldn't talk fe long, look like the yout dem a mob him and him crew

Me will update you later after me get the full story.

so why dem tink we had one of the Digital Jam tech Camps in Mandeville... dem better mek sure dem registah and show up ah conference center end of June.. nuff farin white man ah come down fi look pon wheh wi have..

Digicel need to straighten out dem tax ting suh wi can add dem on.. Flow and Lime ah run wid it..

Now this is how you go about planning a town/city and its development. Identify what is best to offer and mobilise the businesses and the government to implement. I likey.
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

BTW just spoke to Kimroy, him say things a gwan good so far. Him couldn't talk fe long, look like the yout dem a mob him and him crew

Me will update you later after me get the full story.
          Di ting ah tun up!! LOL

Noice!!!

Yow...mi juss sight up Kimroy dem report...Wikid Tings!

The Revolution Hits the Road!! Toot!! Toot!

Mi wi leff yuh fi buss it....if you're so inclined

Nah man, you go ahead. Me nuh good with the words like you.

I am feeling good about things. Now me have the new headache of more demand than we can handle. Oh well, back to the fundraising desks, the youths must not be disappointed!

lol

Clap im!