Golding seeking to mislead public, says PNP

• Golding seeking to mislead public, says PNP

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=1 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD><SPAN class=Subheadline>Manley couldn't have refused 'Most Honourable' title</SPAN></TD></TR><TR><TD>
    Sunday, March 04, 2007
    </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
    <P class=StoryText align=justify>People's National Party (PNP) General-Secretary Donald Buchanan has rubbished Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) leader Bruce Golding's claim that former PNP president Michael Manley refused to accept the title Most Honourable during his first tenure as prime minister in the 1970s but did so during his second stint as head of the Government after re-election in the 1989.<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=5 width=120 align=left border=0><TBODY><TR><TD></TD></TR><TR><TD><SPAN class=Description>GOLDING. said Michael Manley refused Most Honourable title in his first stint as prime minister </SPAN></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><P class=StoryText align=justify>The People's National Party flatly denies that Mr Manley had been offered the title of Most Honourable at any point during his tenure as prime minister of Jamaica," Buchanan said in a letter to the Observer on Friday. "During the periods that Mr Manley served as prime minister, the protocol allowed only for the governor-general to be conferred with the title Most Honourable."<P class=StoryText align=justify>Buchanan was responding to Golding's claim made in an address to JLP supporters at a Generation 2000 (G2K) branch relaunch on the UTech campus in Papine, Kingston on February 22 and reported in the Daily Observer on February 23.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Golding had said he would not want the title 'The Most Honourable' affixed to his name were he to become prime minister. He said he supported the position of late former Prime Minister Manley who, he said, also refused to accept the title during his first stint as prime minister from 1972 to 1980. However, Manley eventually accepted the title when he returned to office in 1989, Golding claimed.<P class=StoryText align=justify>But Buchanan, charging that Golding had established a pattern of "seeking to mislead the public" pointed out that the JLP leader's claim was historically impossible as Manley died three years before the decision was taken to confer the title on prime ministers.<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=5 width=120 align=right border=0><TBODY><TR><TD></TD></TR><TR><TD><SPAN class=Description>BUCHANAN. says Golding had established a pattern of seeking to mislead the public </SPAN></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><P class=StoryText align=justify>"The title of Most Honourable being conferred on Prime Ministers past and present resulted from an amendment to the National Honours and Awards Amendment Act of 2002, which means that Mr Manley would have received the title posthumously, as he died on March 6, 1997," Buchanan wrote.<P class=StoryText align=justify>"The PNP sees Mr Golding's hallucinatory utterances as a continuation of his deliberately trying to smear others for political expediency and is again warning the Jamaican public to beware of Mr Golding's apparent willingness to do anything to try to attain state power," Buchanan added.<P class=StoryText align=justify>He said that Golding also tried to mislead JLP supporters at a meeting at the Jamaica Conference Centre on January 21 this year when he told them that the PNP was having a meeting in rural Jamaica at that very same time to test the ground for
    an election.<P class=StoryText align=justify>"As we speak, as we are meeting here at the Conference Centre they are having a similar meeting at Dinthill Technical High School," Buchanan said Golding was reported as saying. "The purpose of the meeting is, I unde

RE: Golding seeking to mislead public, says PNP

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=1 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD>

<SPAN class=TopStory></SPAN>

<SPAN class=TopStory>Not so, Mr Buchanan</SPAN>
    <SPAN class=Subheadline></SPAN></TD></TR><TR><TD>
    Thursday, March 08, 2007
    </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
    <P class=StoryText align=justify>Dear Editor,<P class=StoryText align=justify>The ever rambunctious Information Minister Donald Buchanan has rushed to vilify where vilification is inapplicable.<P class=StoryText align=justify>At the launch of the UTech chapter of G2K on February 22, I was introduced by the chairman of the function as "the soon-to-be the Most Honourable."<P class=StoryText align=justify>In an immediate response I stated that I had no intention of accepting that honour (ON) on assuming the office of prime minister. Titles are one thing, but I feel that it is absurd for an honour to be automatically attached to an office rather than being awarded based on one's performance in that office. To the extent that it is an honour that is conferred and has to be accepted, I indicated that I would have no intention of accepting it.<P class=StoryText align=justify>I made absolutely no reference to Mr Michael Manley accepting or not accepting that or any other title. That reference was inserted by the reporter who wrote the news story, and to that extent Mr Buchanan may be forgiven for his hot flashes.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Bruce Golding
    Opposition Leader
    Kingston

Now mi see why people like Mosiah have issues with Bruce's credibility (is that the word Mosiah?). Dem only listen to people that accept bribes. Then again, what luck for leaders when men don't think.

<DIV>This is my point, Lazie. They are both idiots!</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>I can't believe the PNP actually wasted time to research whether or not Manley had declined the title or not. Is it really that important to know? Do I care if Bruce plain lied or was mistaken about such a fact?!? NO!</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>And Bruce is right. I too got the feeling that it was a reporter who made the error and not Bruce himself. But this back and forth "hot flashes", "hallucinatory" accusations is just plain childish and dumb.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Where is Ras Astor Black when yuh need him? </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV></DIV>

Well, that is you. If Bruce had ignored the MisInformation Minister's response, can you imagine the reaction of religious fanatics like Karl and JAwge?