Garvey on the Absence of Leadership and Commitment

• Garvey on the Absence of Leadership and Commitment

It is so hard, so difficult to find men who will stick to a purpose, who will maintain a principle for the worth of that principle, for the good of that purpose, and if there is a race that needs such men in the world today, God Almighty knows it is the race of which I am a member. The race needs men of vision and ability; men of character and above all men of honesty, and that is so hard to find.

The greatest stumbling block in the way of progress in the race has invariably come from within the race itself. The monkey wrench of destruction as thrown into the cog of Negro Progress is not thrown so much by the outsider as by the very fellow who is in our fold, and who should be the first to grease the wheel of progress rather than seeking to impede it.

But notwithstanding the lack of sympathetic co-operation, I have one consolation—That I cannot get away from the race,and so long as I am in the race and since I have sense and judgment enough to know what affects the race affects me, it is my duty to help the race to clear itself of those things that affect us in common.

The greatest stumbling block in the way of progress in the race has invariably come from within the race itself. The monkey wrench of destruction as thrown into the cog of Negro Progress is not thrown so much by the outsider as by the very fellow who is in our fold, and who should be the first to grease the wheel of progress rather than seeking to impede it.
    Yes Marcus...yuh know it

Wi si dem all di wile...wolves in sheep clothing

Islandman, Mr. Garvey's last paragraph.

But notwithstanding the lack of sympathetic co-operation, I have one consolation—That I cannot get away from the race,and so long as I am in the race and since I have sense and judgment enough to know what affects the race affects me, it is my duty to help the race to clear itself of those things that affect us in common.

EXAMPLE: "We" tend to live in the worst communities...(across the tracks). They call it the 'Black neighborhood'.

In our community--simple things like picking up litter, cutting the grass and keeping the hedges neat, turning down loud music blasting from houses and cars...hanging out on the block smoking refer in public--are just basic things that will help the race to clear itself of those things that affects us in common.

Of course there are myriads of examples.

Islandman, Mr. Garvey's last paragraph.

EXAMPLE: "We" tend to live in the worst communities...(across the tracks). They call it the 'Black neighborhood'.

In our community--simple things like picking up litter, cutting the grass and keeping the hedges neat, turning down loud music blasting from houses and cars...hanging out on the block smoking refer in public--are just basic things that will help the race to clear itself of those things that affects us in common.
        If only it were so easy...This above is barely scratching the surface

The problems of Black people are so comprehensive, acute and insidious...this stuff you refer to will make a more livable environment but barely moves the needle of progress

Much more heavy lifting is required...All hands on deck...More Action and Much Less empty yapping & facile excuses for sloth

That's the Garvey message... no adulteration required

BTW, you left off my last sentence from the quote.....(hope it was in error).

Back in the days when a i sat tests in College...I always answer the easy questions first. I found out very early that "if I spent time on problems that are comprehensive, acute and insidious..."I would make little of no progress. Nothing would get done!! The same principle applies in life.

There must be a start. Lets start with those problems that are SIMPLE and fully within our control. Those problems that are easy to solve.

Another easy problem that BLACK people can solve (and fully within our control) is crime within our [own] communities:

Ok..

The problem here is that many ONLY see the simple. obvious issues...and don't venture beyond them...or even do anything other than to yap about the problems they do see.

We don't have a problem identifying problems. We have a huge problem in mustering enough courage or motivation to actually DO something other than yap.

That simply means we are part of the problem and not part of the solution.

That's the problem.

As we Granny say "one one cocoa full basket". A nuh everybody can bear the cross but we all can make small differences.

yes sir!!

Don1 - you make a lot of sense...most of the times...but you keep harping on the fact that "if you are not a part of the problem, you are a part of the solution". Does this cliche really make any sense?

To me our greatest problem is lack of some affirming action to address our problems..actions whether big or small.

Once I hold that position then it's logical that we who are sentient regarding the problems we face but fail to act are indeed part of the problem...although it's easy to pretend that we're not because we may be doing ok personally

To me there is no comfortable middle ground that the slothful can claim when our people continue to be the Wretched of the Earth. That's not a status I embrace or wish to get accustomed to as being "normal"

Ah suh di ting set fi mi

I completely agree with your points related to the subject matter as stated as above just that the cliched general statement doesn't do it justice.

ok boss

Gotcha

nature abhors a vacuum