Garvey on Knowing Yourself and your Purpose

• Garvey on Knowing Yourself and your Purpose

For man to know himself is for him to feel that for him there is no human master. For him Nature
    is his servant, and whatsoever he wills in Nature, that shall be his reward. If he wills to be a
    pigmy, a serf or a slave, that shall he be. If he wills to be a real man in possession of the things
    common to man, then he shall be his own sovereign.

When man fails to grasp his authority he sinks to the level of the lower animals, and whatsoever
    the real man bids him do, even as if it were of the lower animals, that much shall he do. If he
    says "go." He goes. If he says "come," he comes. By this command he performs the functions of
    life even as by a similar command the mule, the horse, the cow performs the will of their
    masters.

For the last four hundred years the Negro has been in the position of being commanded
    even as the lower animals are controlled. Our race has been without a will; without a purpose of
    its own, for all this length of time. Because of that we have developed few men who are able to
    understand the strenuousness of the age in which we live.

So poignant!

It all start with the mastery of 'the self'.

"We" are very much in the state as Garvey describes. We own nothing, we build nothing...we are tenants on our own Continent...

Keep it coming Islandman. A pebble can cause great waves in a pond.

UP YOU MIGHTY RACE............>>>>>!!!

Many hate you when you own or try to own. Too many think owning has to be a community thing. If everybody in the community own something we still own it.

Big up Garvey and his words.

Too many of us feel like we can't do much to better ouselves unless all discrimination ends. That is a long time bwoy, me really cannot wait fe dat.

Me tyad a the weeping and wailing. Time to get to work.

ah rite.

Yep..mi tiyad ah di Yappers.. zero tolerance policy mi seh

Too many of us feel like we can't do much to better ouselves unless all discrimination ends. That is a long time bwoy, me really cannot wait fe dat.

Me tyad a the weeping and wailing. Time to get to work.
            We, Jah people, can make it work;
            Come together and make it work, yeah!
            We can make it work;
            We can make it work.

Five days to go: working for the next day;
            Four days to go: working for the next day;
            Say we got: three days to go now:
            working for the next day;
            Two days to go (ooh): working
            for the next day, yeah.
            Say we got: one day to go: working for the -
            Every day is work - work - work - work!

We can make it work;
            We can make it work.

We, Jah people, can make it work;
            Come together and make it work.
            We can make it work;
            We can make it work.

We got: five days to go work, oh! -
            working for the next day, eh!
            Four days to go: working for the -
            Three days to go now: working
            for the next day, yeah!
            Two days to go: working for the next day
            Say we got: one day to go now: working for -
            Every day is work, wotcha-wa!
            (Work!) I work in the mid-day sun;
            (Work!) I work till the evening come!
            (Work!) If ya ain't got nothing to do!

People read this powerful truth...but do they ovastand?

I think not...only on a superficial level.. i.e. understanding

More's the pity