Well, though I am no fan of Omar, I can't blame him for

• Well, though I am no fan of Omar, I can't blame him for

trying to accelerate mega projects. For far too long the fishhead imperative have stood in the way and he can't afford the extra OCG obstacle. The 3 member panel is high quality and the OCG is still free to dig around....soooo

I am not too worried at the moment.

The big worry is if the once in a generation train leaves us at the platform again for another 30-50 years!

Don't you think they should ammend the OCG law if they want to do this? This is the same Omar who admitted to run with it, the same Omar who the contractor general recommended be charged for not giving information on the Air J slots and the same Omar who started JEEP without any oversight.

While we have to get projects do we want billions that goes to waste? While these people are qualified do they have the resource or we going to make a parrallel OCG? The OCG team have 60 members. And that said the PNP and some JLP people clammering.

They would be glad if the OCG drop dead. They don't want any oversight.

Another thing is there a rule for Chinese investment project and a rule for others? Where do we draw the line and which one is the OCG is in control of, do we choose?

Dem cyaan pull nuh fast one pon Danny Williams. Omar is effectively handcuffed.

OCG will be 2nd line of defense.

Its not the fact that its Chinese investor...its the size and strategic importance of the mega projects.

Dem cyaan pull nuh fast one pon Danny Williams. Omar is effectively handcuffed.

OCG will be 2nd line of defense.

Its not the fact that its Chinese investor...its the size and strategic importance of the mega projects.
        The Most Hon. Danny Williams ah come check wi dis weekend... mi aggo hask im wat ah gwaan wid dat likke sitten

Please do.

Mi owl boss dat. LoL

I agree that Omar was wrong with his inflammatory rhetoric about OCG as stumbling block. Him look like him cyaan tame his arrogance...

It RABY Danvers Williams, actually! LoL

The projects are no doubt important and need to be streamlined, but to think that Danny Williams or anyone else can stop the corruption is wishful thinking. There will be corruption and waste and it will probably be significant.

We can only hope that in spite of that they actually get done.

My problem is what if Omar sidestep these guys? and decide to draw cyaad on them? They only option they have is to resign and then what?
                  I have no problem with their intergity but the committee set up by Omar can also become a stumbling block, who are they accountable to?

They way I see it is that Omar has created another line of defence, so he really did not make it easier for himself if he wants to run with it!

Exactly, it is about the integrity of the system not the specific individuals. We have a hard time understanding that concept in Jamaica.

Anyway mek we hope we can find some comfortable middle ground. These projects, if done well, could make a major difference in the economy for decades.

Sigh, ah dat mi a seh too.

Imperfect situation fi real.

might be good for Omar and the project but bad way to fight corruption.

What if every minister set up their 3 man committee and try to make the OCG irrellivant?

Still cant make the OCG irrelevant as he can audit anything, even after the fact.

His weapon is embarrassment!

We have to find a way fe streamline certain time sensitive projects though.

This Panama Canal expansion is no dibby-dibby thing. Somebody in the region is going to reap big benefits from it. This is like a gift for JA if we do it right.
                              Last edited by Islandman; May 8, 2012, 11:44 AM.