LETTER OF THE DAY - Stop adding to woes by multiplying babies
Published: Monday | May 7, 2012 Comments 0
THE EDITOR, Sir: There is no major problem facing Jamaica that would not be better controlled if the population were smaller. Crime, crowded schools and hospitals, you name it. Hence, it is disappointing to see women every night on the news with six, seven, eight, nine, 10 or more hungry children asking for help.
Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller, as a woman from the grass roots, has much influence among these women. I urge her to use that influence for change. These women must take responsibility for their life and stop multiplying irresponsibly.
If Jamaica is ever going to curb crime, we first have to curb the careless behaviour of many of our inner-city women. If we are ever going to reduce poverty, we have to reduce the number of children poor people are having.
A friend of mine (who can scarcely afford it) took in her sister's youngest child. "Why did you do that?" I asked. The child wasn't getting any care, as her sister had three other children and wasn't working. I said, "You just free her up to have another one."
"After she nuh mad!?" was her response. Apparently, she was mad. A few months later, we found out she was pregnant again. To cut a long story short, it would be nice if Prime Minister Simpson Miller had a talk - a frank talk - with our women. They can't keep having children they can't afford and then come on TV pitifully asking for help. God helps those who help themselves.
COLIN WHEELER
colinlwheeler@hotmail.com
Published: Monday | May 7, 2012 Comments 0
THE EDITOR, Sir: There is no major problem facing Jamaica that would not be better controlled if the population were smaller. Crime, crowded schools and hospitals, you name it. Hence, it is disappointing to see women every night on the news with six, seven, eight, nine, 10 or more hungry children asking for help.
Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller, as a woman from the grass roots, has much influence among these women. I urge her to use that influence for change. These women must take responsibility for their life and stop multiplying irresponsibly.
If Jamaica is ever going to curb crime, we first have to curb the careless behaviour of many of our inner-city women. If we are ever going to reduce poverty, we have to reduce the number of children poor people are having.
A friend of mine (who can scarcely afford it) took in her sister's youngest child. "Why did you do that?" I asked. The child wasn't getting any care, as her sister had three other children and wasn't working. I said, "You just free her up to have another one."
"After she nuh mad!?" was her response. Apparently, she was mad. A few months later, we found out she was pregnant again. To cut a long story short, it would be nice if Prime Minister Simpson Miller had a talk - a frank talk - with our women. They can't keep having children they can't afford and then come on TV pitifully asking for help. God helps those who help themselves.
COLIN WHEELER
colinlwheeler@hotmail.com