Garvey on Confidence and Conviction

• Garvey on Confidence and Conviction

The man or woman who has no confidence in self is an unfortunate being, and is really a misfit
    in creation. God Almighty created each and every one of us for a place in the world, and for the
    least of us to think that we were created only to be what we are and not what we can make
    ourselves is to impute an improper motive to the Creator for creating us. God Almighty created
    us all to be free.

That the Negro race became a race of slaves was not the fault of God Almighty,
    the Divine Master, it was the fault of the race. Sloth, neglect, indifference caused us to be slaves.
    Confidence, conviction, action will cause us to be free men today

Isn't there a conflict in Garvey's words and his religious zeal.

Well he does speak about God quite often but most things I have read have been along the lines of "help yourself and God will be on your side". What they would call taking personal responsibility today.

Most religious people who are radical thinkers have some difficulty reconciling the two.

I heard a Garveyite woman saying that they believe he was getting closer to Islam in his later days. Don't know how true that is.

Sloth, neglect, indifference caused us to be slaves.
        Confidence, conviction, action will cause us to be free men today
        Meaning: One is either part of the problem or...part of the solution. There is NO middle ground.

Most people choose to be part of the problem...all yapping and zero or negative action or action merely for self.

Ah suh di ting set...Marcus the Prophet dun speaketh

Islandman, I relish the quotes that you have been posting by Garvey! Please keep them coming:

The current quote requires no analysis. It is very clear.

I don't think so. He may have been more open to other religions but I think he was firm in his christian belief.

But a more Afrocentric version of it which which would have been certainly considered blasphemy in his day.

Organized religions are generally designed to keep people in line and to get them to follow traditional thinking and laws, good or bad. Anyone who comes with "new wine" teaching is seen as dangerous and sacrilegious. Jesus is the best known example of this but certainly not the first or the last.

Many are afraid of been challenged. You had people like Martin Luther who questioned the church in the middle ages. Yeah Garvey black version must have troubled a lot of christians as he didn't use the "traditional image" of Jesus and believe we should take advantage of christianity, not to let it hold us down.

HL careful

Ja is in bad shape. I dn't watch TV but I'm now hooked religious hard talk. Called a bredrin and told him to watch. He laughed and said incidentally the day before he spent two hours watching it.

All these splinter religious groups being formed (with some of the peple I know). I had to say wow!

Respect sah. Interestingly enough I thought of you when I selected this one.

Was it Garvey you who said Garvey was or sounded like a conservative? True. Not todays bastardized version, more an old school one like a Teddy Roosevelt or Dwight Eisenhower.

Garvey's IS a conservative.

Martin Luther King was a conservative too...a Republican!!

Garvey's IS a conservative.

Martin Luther King was a conservative too...a Republican!!
                          Those terms are ridiculous describe complex people like Garvey and MLK. Their beliefs and works incorporate elements of several differing philosophies...and their world views are similar in some respects and radically different in others.

Those American constructs of Conservatism/Republicanism etc are oversimplifications created by the media to put people into convenient but ridiculous & phony little boxes

Free yourself from that little Matrix

I don't know what MLK was in his early days but I am sure he was not an active Republican after 1963-64 when the Goldwater/Reagan wing of the party took control.

I'll give you the lions' share on this 1Don.