BTW is there a school here in the states that has a policy that it will fail you on the basis of skin colour? Mi ah go let it go still; mek it slide.
Let's see how the MOE handle this
Your points are valid King Jawge.
Just trying to reconcile the behavior of the students.
Problem solving --especially those with a long term aim...require BRAIN not brawn. Trashing your learning environment is not a solution.The only time TRUTH will hurt you...is if you ignore it long enough
True dat. Remember they are young but it's no excuse because the had time to research and plan. Notice how I attacked UWI and drew fire on this board. The students could've had UWI in a position to defend a speculation (maybe the paying ones will pass) hence buying time to bargain to do the finals (you're gonna pay anyway). Did UWI teach them about Martin Luther and his 95 theses. Now that was planned and it put the Catholics on back pedal. Hl an army usually works with arms and training give to them
I think this is a teachable moment for both sides
mi support the youth them give them a chance. find someway fi them pay back. Can't stop the youths from trying.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
You didn't draw fire boss..just disagreement with your position. As for the students, isn't the typical problem solving solutionis Jamaica confrontation? Wouldn't you expect that the students could at least have tried to advocate a different position - say signing a contract and do the finals with willingness to pay?
BTW paying for classes and exams is no guarantee of a passing grade....
The Guild is actually making some sense here.
However, the Guild insists that students should at least be able to do the examinations for the courses that their payments have covered.
It also said where there are still arrears the students should not receive a failing grade on their records since effectively they would not have registered for the course.
That said, I doubt it will happen but I believe these students that disrupted the exams should be punished in some way. Charged even. From what I am hearing many students have been held up, some had plane tickets booked to go home and such complications because of this nonsense. Same ole indiscipline but thats how we deal with things as a society unfortunately.
I also hope that UWI doesn't implement a new policy , NO PAYMENT, NO REGISTRATION at the start of the semester to avoid this in the future. Wouldn't blame them if they do though.Last edited by Islandman; April 30, 2012, 05:00 PM."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
So if I am in a course, don't pay, realize I wont pass, just don't pay and I wouldn't get a failing grade - not bad...for the student....no risk, no loss.
So UWI have must clear guidelines for course registration, flagging student records and dropping courses....sometimes though it's not the students' fault but the respective governments who have not paid the fees..or scholarship funds arriving late etc. Other times its competing interests...latest Blackberry, designer clothes, cars etc...