• Let's see how the MOE handle this

one. http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...stop-UWI-exams

How are you going to tell them they will get a failing grade because they didn't pay school fee? So those who pay pass? I can understand them not returning the next semester until all is paid but denying them the right to sit an exam is low. How did they get in this semester anyway.

Let us just blame the love of music and sports. LOL. Them can go kick ball now that them fail.

They got in this semester because the university gave them a break and said "go ahead to class but pay your fees before exam time or you won't be allowed to sit them"

Are you saying you would have preferred they not let them go to class in the first place?

They do not get a failing grade. They can take the exams at the end of the summer if they pay thier bills before then. At least that is how it worked when I was there umpteen years ago.

So those who pay pass?
      Such a ridiculous comment I will leave it alone.

I'm surprised the logic flew by you. ah well. The point is this: why hinge an academic grade on financial payment? A straight A student that doesn't have the financial resources is given an F (dis regarding academic abilities).

The paying students now has the right to ask why can't they get a pass (seeing that other factors outside of academic abilities can determine your grade I.e money) Bet if it was here young legal minds would jump on it?

UWI holds the key. If they (students) don't pay; they can't attend next semester, or graduate OR get a hold of transcripts. Denying them the right to sit the exam is outright stupid. As for sitting the exam in the summer that's setting them up to fail.

Nah say nutten mi watch di ride

Good Lord have mercy.

OK Jawge.

The only downfall for the students would be if they sign any documents saying I pay in full before sitting the final; if not UWI has the right to fail me.

I just hope not or else this demonstration is a waste of time (should have been done before)

...want a baby aspirin (80mg) Islandman...?

More like a big head spliff!! LOL!

HL UWI is not a privately run institution. We all know at private colleges you are deregistered in the middle of the semester (knew of a kid it happened to; parents had to run with house and pull money from investments to pay the thousands that was owed)

CUNY; you are allowed to pay part and a bank finance the rest. You then pay the bank or bursar in installments. If you fail to pay, you cannot graduate (if a senior) you cannot return next semester nor receive any documentation from the school. Yes you will finish the semester, do finals and all but that's it.

UWI is doing a criminal act. What if tax payers say hold out on the funds to run the school in midyear? If they pay part way and stated the semester there is a lot of ways to get money off these students, let them do the finals.

Private schools have their own rules hence I wouldn't thread there (some a dem school fee a semester would ah mek mi pass out)

Jawge..you not making any sense on this one...
                      What about THERE when students get a F, C, or B because of their skin colour??? (disregarding academic abilities) Where are the young legal minds?
                      In the great US system, you don't pay, your RECORD is FLAGGED and that's it for you. You don't pay, you don't GRADUATE!!!!

The days for FREE education gawn....

No why you have to go there? Damn things happen to us all. The only reason I brought it up was because UWI was acting they of a loan shark.

Exactly but you do sit the finals (you can even beg and grovel at private school to sit the finals).

I know but your finals is off because you didn't pay? UWI is Cosa Nostra now? Damn

Okay things are looking up:http://jamaica-gleaner.com/latest/article.php?id=36904

Yes man talk it over and let them sit the finals because you (UWI) have the handle. The students aren't going anywhere.