No wonder we cant get better!

• No wonder we cant get better!

Is this dem a waste time beefing up curriculum with?
    http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...ember_11357956

What about civics and applied sciences and English/French/Spanish (so we can do the FTA with Cuba and Hispaniola)?

Instead we a waste resources and energy on Babylon's agenda! Is di big countries doing climatic damage ...we too small to count. On top of that some of the science is shakey. Steeeuuups.

Climate change formally taught in school?? I agree that's nonsensical at this point

We should have other priorities way before that as you say...clearly the PNP is rudderless...adequate only at winning elections

Wrong Jungle...Wrong Vision
    Last edited by Don1; April 30, 2012, 07:22 AM.

Nothing is WRONG with teaching it from an early age..maybe we may get adults who have a better understanding of the issues and the issues are REAL.

Some more information available from:

1. The Economics of Climate Change in the Caribbean – Summary Report 2011

http://www.eclac.org/portofspain/not...t%5B1-3%5D.pdf

Is this a Jamaican priority?

My guess is that they are overselling what they will be introducing. At that age and stage the more important theme is respecting and protecting your environment.

Stop bun down the hillside dem cause you house a go wash whey inna landslide next time rain fall; if you uncle dont leave the lobster dem alone during the off season, him soon nuh have nuh more lobster fe sell; pretty Negril beach a erode whey because of irresponsible building.

Dem need fe understand dem ting deh.

Maybe calling it "teaching Climate Change" means you can get some dollars in grants. I am wondering if its something like that going on. Can't imagine dem really a go spend too much time telling 8 y.o. youth inna Jamaica bout polar bears and sea levels.

You are so right. The issue therefore is not the WHY but the HOW. We need to package environmental education in a relevant and practical way and get our people to think in a positive way about how we utilize and share our space.

There are still to many educated adult people (some friends) who can't relate to the issues that we face. It's not about polar bears...lol...

So can we get them to oversell RELEVANT curricula?
              P-R-I-O-R-I-T-Y

Good question. Wish I had an answer. LOL.

I have a feeling these people dont hunger and thirst for righteousness sake!

I mean, where is the passion to dig us out of our hole and put up in the forefront, WHERE I AND OTHERS THINK WE BELONG?????

Is that really the issue? What is "a Jamaican priority" if there's such a thing? Thing is we have a global phenomena which will have far reach local impacts in the future, introducing the concepts to the youths now will better prepare them when most of us here are dead and gone.
                    In fact, if some of our present day politicians and decision makers had an iota of environmental education and responsibility, some of the problems we have in Jamaica now wouldn't be there.

ESD or education for sustainable development insists that climate change is the greatest public policy issue of our time.

If humanity is to respond to the challenges, education has a key role to play in promoting understanding and helping individuals, society and governments to make informed choices.

This is not simply about giving people information, but ensuring that education – and schools specifically – is mobilized to re-orient society towards sustainable practices.

Education is not a ‘magic bullet’ in approaching climate change and sustainability, but without co-ordinated educational interventions, even the best thought through technical policies will fail.

I dont care what these people pontificate.

Our peeps are suffering and for years while they pontificate.

Time for us to focus on OUR priorities ant Al Gore pie in the sky.
                        In case you are now aware (and I am sure you are), this whole climate change thing is BIG globalist politics.

Cockroach dont bizniz in fowl fight.

And I am in no way saying that we should destroy our local environment. I am saying we should more focus on CIVICs and preservation of the natural envirnoment will be included in a way that serves OUR interest.

Mi live in the miggle of all the UN politics. I quite understand the samfie and I want no part of it.

The greatest public policy issue of our time is GOVERNANCE. Who is puilling the strings of thesen politicos? Whose interest do they serve, disguised in neat sloganeering and so-called "good" intentions?

Gwan PREACH .... one day the right chorister may heed the message.........

[quote=Willi;354156] Who is puilling the strings of thesen politicos? Whose interest do they serve, disguised in neat sloganeering and so-called "good" intentions?[/quote]

all of them worldwide = self interest; POWA - get me re-elected is the mantra...

BIG money men behind them, belee dat.

Billionaires nuh leave things to "chance".