nice chune... first time mi hear it mi like it... still, dem song yah nuh have nuh staying power... chris martin fi use him voice better... the singjay ting nuh grab most people...
Lazie, we are stuck in some long ago era fi true when it comes to our music. That's because most of the forumites are from the USA where, sadly, they have yet to appreciate the great new music out there, both reggae and dancehall.
Just recently, I was at one of the hundreds of bar lounges that have popped up in Brooklyn. At one time, not too long ago, these places could only be found in Manhattan, but that has changed, thankfully. After sitting thru several songs that too me back to my days in college and New York before I was deported, I asked my friend to speak to the DJ about fast-forwarding into the 21st century. Which the DJ did with great results! The crowd was a 40-something crowd, but we all could appreciate Popcaan's wikkid chunes, among others, which got the few ladies in there moving. (Please don't take me on about Popcaan's quality. Just ask the New York Times!)
Just last night I was at another one, and they were playing the same old 90s stuff. Mi just low dem.
There are some good songs out...I try to get updated on the dancehall and recent reggae songs....one of these days I'll do a proper complilation...beacuse you really have to sift through....on one cd or string of mp3s you may get one decent song...
However, my problem is when we jump to announce "great song" on every little tune that have 2 lyrics or a catchy phrase..let's reserve that for something really authentic and can stand the test of time....
There are some good music out there but you have to blame the DJs who no longer concentrate on playing good music but is much more concerned about their promotion and their skills.
Also I was recently thinking that the days when musicians really concentrated on making beats that can last time are now over. When last we have a beat that can conquer the crowd without even a bar of lyrics on it? We need to put a little more effort in that area. Gone are the days when you have studio bands and musicians who really try to add something to some tune. Also a good story line is missing in many of these tunes.
How we miss the Sly and Robbie, Roots Radics, Steelie and Cleve(last of the bunch) who really thought about unique sounds. No doubt good music is been made but in North America for example it is easier to hear them on Satalite than most radio stations on the east coast.
Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
chris martin have a tune that mek I laugh ...cheaters prayer!! the man she dont mek him cheat pon him girlfirend... a wha do da bredda ya..... him nuh hear the pnp dem seh man fia have nuff phone, nuff car and gal...