Quite the opposite, or at least my family was quite the opposite. Manley to the core in 1980 and beyond.
As I came of age and started asking questions (I was too young to really know what was going on at the time ) my father did acknowledge that a lot of nonsense happened in the 70s though. But I have come to my opinions mostly based on my own review of history.
Manley did some important things that should have been done the day after independence, and he did some things that we still suffer from. Didn;t have to be that way even if Seaga was doing what he did best.
"It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
Actually it's the "five flights a day" quote that I was addressing...which you appeared to have framed incorrectly with millionaires etc.. If Mr Burke is to be believed that is
Anyway I've exceeded my Nostalgia Quotient for the day
I maintain that Manley developed a Messiah complex. Really thought he was God-sent to save the people and anyone who stood in his way was evil. I guess if they call you Joshua enough times you start to believe that you are.
Ow yuh mean... den nuh Joshua im did name...yuh lucky dem neva kall im Moses.... evvybaddy wudda pile up inna Lime Cay wen dat deh Sea part
My grandfather was a regional chairman of the PNP, in fact when I was a little kid ( 5, 6 years old) I used to wonder whether he was Norman Manley as there was a strong resemblance (in my eyes) between the two.
Anyway, it wasn't until I was about 9 that I realized there actually was another political party in JA... (in spite of my grandfather using the term "ol' labourite" on many an occasion as an epithet to denounce those he didn't approve of) and that there were people who actually believed in something other than the PNP; our neighbour was over talking politics and my jaw dropped! what manner of man was he? he was actually extolling the virtues of the JLP and saying many disrespectful and "couldn't be true" things about the PNP... I remember thinking: I hope daddy doesn't fall for this propaganda (I might have though a different word back then )... how could any of those things be true.. I remember ( i was eavesdropping of course) the words "taxes" and "communist" used by the neighbour...
The point is the indoctrination starts from young, learnt by osmosis; in my case I don't think it was until I went to university that I was began to think independently about the political parties in JA... After being on the Joshua bandwagon at 15 I celebrated the Seaga victory at 22... as I aged I have become most disillusioned with politics and politicians... how do we expect change when we keep on doing the same things? with the same dinosaurs at the helm or influencing what is done? education is a must!