More Singapore Stories
Yep... Unmatched...and Un-matchable
He even went as far as to build im owna nation... The People's Republik of Tivarli...The Gator State...Nation Building Gone MadTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Do you really know what it means for nation of 2.3 mil to have a 55% illiteracy rate? Not even getting into being educated at the high school level. Yuh ah genius figga it out. Genius like yuh would haff time fi create millionaire in dat environment.
As I said keep fooling yourself
Govt cannot create millionares (apart from tiefing for themselves and them cronies). Govt can create the environment that enables millionaires to create themselves.
And they can create the environment for existing and potential millionares to take thier skills and capital elsewhere.But some people love poor people so much dat them prefer to keep them poor.
The "five flights a day" speech was the second most damaging speech made by a political leader in independent JA, surpassed only by Seagas "Blood for blood, fire for fire" speech."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
As late as 1996 there was a hullabaloo when then Father (now the Honourable Monsignor) Gregory Ramkissoon brought the US Muslim leader Louis Farrakhan to Jamaica to give a public lecture to raise funds for the Mustard Seed Foundation.
I then wrote in my column in the now defunct Jamaica Record that in the 1970s many people migrated after Michael Manley said that if anyone did not like socialism, there were "five flights a day to Miami".
But Michael Manley responded to me. In a letter, he said that the heavy migration of the upper classes in the 1970s started before the "five flights" speech. According to Manley, this heavy migration started when he ruled that the people were to pay land tax according to acreage, and not one land tax regardless of the size of their land
Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/colum...#ixzz1soBJi6oETIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Me nuh know if me totally buy dat.
Yes the migration started before, but that speech certainly drew the lines as to who was "welcome" in the new Great Socialist Mecca and who was not.
Many of them would have left anyway even if the speech was not given, but for a national leader to take that kind of line is not unacceptable. No elected political leader has the right to tell fellow Jamaicans that they should leave the country if they don't agree with what the govt of the day is doing. Tell them go vote for the other man or whatever.
I maintain that Manley developed a Messiah complex. Really thought he was God-sent to save the people and anyone who stood in his way was evil. I guess if they call you Joshua enough times you start to believe that you are."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
Originally posted by Mosiah View PostNation building on crack! And ganja! And guns! And murder!
dat dere man is one serious country planner!TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE