More Singapore Stories

• More Singapore Stories

One of my educators while I was in Singapore was a Jamaican who had lived there for only two years, working in IT in one of the many banks. Since leaving for university several years ago, he may have visited Jamaica only once, having spent time in Georgia (USA), Virginia, NY and London. The crime in Jamaica scares him. I can imagine what he thought of my encouragement to visit during Jamaica 50 if he read that story about the Gregory Park girl. He had said he would not be concerned if his wife and their 2 year old son were walking the streets at 4 in the morning any where in Singapore.

Even so, Singapore is not a perfect society. Where is?!? The country has had to deal with real diversity, not like our 95% African people that have to deal with a ridiculous national motto.

Singapore is comprised of Chinese, Malay and Indians (mostly Tamils), each of which brings its own customs, language and religion. The Indians are Hindus, the Malay are Muslims and the Chinese are Capitalists!

They each occupy a certain strata in the society with the Chinese controlling the money and the posh jobs, the Malay are in the middle somewhere, while the Indians are the construction sector and manual labour. I get the feeling they have accepted their roles and there is no attempt to disturb the peaceful society by trying to break thru their respective glass ceilings.

And of course, there is the role of the expatriates. They were once the sought-after as the govt. tried to rapidly bring the country to first world status. But they eventually became the source of much jealousy and whatever, to the point where the govt. had to put an end to the run-away salaries and privileges they enjoyed. It is now much harder for expatriates to work in Singapore, even while still probably being much easier than many countries. About 25% of Singapore's residents are foreigners.

Foreigners do not share residential communities nor schools with local Singaporeans. But not to worry, housing and schools for the vast majority of people are quite satisfactory to excellent! Most Singaporeans live in govt housing, something like the projects in the USA but much, much nicer. If you have the money to purchase better then you pay thru your teeth!

Which brings me to the car situation. Like I said earlier, BMW and Mercedes-Benz dominate the roads but only about 10% of the population owns a car. That is because the cost to operate one is astronomical! A regular $40,000 car could run you around $120,000, and that is before you receive your permit to drive on the roads. That permit is a mere $80,000. So your $40,000 car has now cost you $200,000!! And that permit is not a one time deal. You have to renew it every ten years. Not to mention all the roads are toll roads, with tolls being collected automatically as you drive.

Mind you, the public transportation system is excellent with a clean and efficient subway system that covers almost the entire island. My Jamaican guide did not own a car and was in no rush to get one.

All this has kept pollution and congestion to a minimum. I did come across a few traffic jams, but I can imagine how much worse it could be in a country that is 1/15th the size of Jamaica with twice the population!

So, whereas in Jamaica it's more cyar, more gyal and more phone, it's slightly different in Singapore.

We did experience some racism when a cab moved off the taxi stand when they saw us approach. It was not the first time I felt like a victim of racial prejudice there, but this was quite blatant. I asked the next driver if some other drivers were scared of black people and he laughed and said yes. This driver also got the huge tip that the racist one would have received.

Nice post Mo. The most difficult problem I think Singapore will have in the immediate future is one one of language. It has been a very burning and devisive issue for some time. English vs Mandarin vs Singlish. It seems as if the battle lines are drawn on the basis of race, economic status, and political philosophy. Will be very interesting how they solve that problem. Of course our language problem is of a different etiology, and would be easier solved if a large segment of our population achieves basic literacy skills.

Nice post Mo.

Now where are the photos?

Very interesting, thanks!

As I mentioned in an earlier post, they are now pushing Mandarin in schools as China positions itself as world leader. (Yes, I said it!) Quite a bit of the population is already biligual, speaking both English and their mother tongue, Mandarin, Malay or Tamil. Most of the people, at least half, already speak Mandarin and most public signs are written in all 4 languages, which are all official.

I don't think they will replace English as the real national official language, but Mandarin could become more widely spoken than it is now.

Singaporeans do things that are practical and they are not hooked on national symbols or tradition. If it makes sense for Mandarin to be more recognised as the official language, that's what they'll do. I noticed that even their time was set to Beijing's, even though all the countries around it, except Malaysia - Indonesia, Thailand, Vietnam - were one hour ahead. I think Malaysia is only recognising the importance of Singapore by aligning their time with theirs.

As for technology, if it makes sense to do it, such as completely automate their port, one of the busiest in the world, then consider it done. No time for arguing about workers' rights and the loss of jobs in that sector because of automation. For them, having the largest transshipment port in the world is more important than a few disgruntled former port workers.

I was told they are very practical people, and it certainly seemed that way. Even if it meant leaving some black people at the taxi stand.

Noice....

Singapore inspire yuh fi write dis epistle..

Quite a bit of the population is already biligual, speaking both English and their mother tongue, Mandarin, Malay or Tamil.
              Wait...yuh mean they learn English even though it is not what they talk at home? Wonder why the majority of Jamaicans are incapable of the same?

Well, just want to counter some of the myths about the place. And to see if what happened there could really have happened in Jamaica.

I think many have been looking at it rather simplistically, without the facts.
                Mind you, one week in the place does not make me a Singapore expert, but I was schooled by two persons and they basically said the same thing. One was a Jamaican, the other a Singaporean of Chinese heritage. It would have been nice getting the point of view of a Tamil.

There is still more to talk about. My next post will be about the government.

No, mother tongue as in the language of their forefathers. I think 90% of Singaporeans learn English and their mother tongue from birth. So English is not a strange language, as it is to our people.

Errr...100% of Jamaicans (schoolgoers) are taught English...we cyaan learn English and our mother tongue too?

The answer is yes. We should be taught both .....

You misunderstand...the majority of Jamaicans are incapable of learning English because that is not what they speak at home...why?

Incapable of speaking English?!? Just because they don't speak it at home?!?!

Let me put it this way...you tell me why the majority of the Jamaican population is incapable of learning the English language?

Because we do not treat it as the foreign language that it is. We think we already know it when we don't.