Jamaica still a piece of paradise....

• Jamaica still a piece of paradise....

...was home for about 2 weeks...mainly to spend sm quality time with my Mom who is 86 this year...not a 100% physically but mentally sharp as a razor...
    Sm obs in Ja:
    Airport: improvement everytime I visit...physically that is...slow in Immigration...but friendly....no problem in customs...no harrassment from taxis and hustlers like first time...

What EXACTLY are they doing with the Palisadoes Road??? I expect sm serious flooding in the rivers where they got the huge river stones...environmental flag...look for it...soemone making lots of money in trucking...the limestone rocks just stacked up will find their way in the road at the next storm...truss me....I hope not...do we really need a 4 lane highway???

Cement company..looking nasty..too much cement around ...airquality poor..where is NEPA??

Gas...JA 4k to fill tank....gas is a huge cost esp if dve all over de place...TT$200 fill my tank about US 32...and I hv a much bigger tank...

Patty Ja$80 but I got two at the airport yesterday and they were over 200 each! Ripoff!

Alcohol..much cheaper than TT...esp wine..but Jamaicans nuh really drink so much...

Supermarket...meat prices...chicken, beef, fish about 30% higher....

Lots of fruits and veggies at reasonable prices...

Electricity - need a separate email...all Jamaica crying but still a lot of wastage and leakage...energy audits can save money..if any of you in the business I hv a friend with a factory...needs to re-use waste heat etc...contact me and I can link you...

Housing - tekking over...too much good agric land for housing...esp in Old Harbour/spanish Twn area...nice 'low cost homes' though...Ja 5M now $7M...2 br....solar heater etc...good land space...

Luxury homes...seems way overpriced and got in argument with cousin who try to justify..eitehr peole making millions in Ja ror in sm serious laundering...

Saw the Richmond houses in Sas' area in Runaway Bay...looks good...a little pricey at US$215k plus US4115/mth upkeep...but may be good value for money...concrete walls with drywall interior...neat..will about 1,000 houses...may be nice for timeshare or rental...or family if you live/work in the area.....limitataions on expansions and colour etc....if you hv money to speculate y'll shld get one...

Drax Hall...sad demise..lots of land...saw an Apartment complex...by the sea...the Marinas I think...US$450-525k..overpriced...small master...cheapish finish...good for weekend or holiday...too close to the sea for me...storm surge in yu r a s s .....

Discovery Bay...private Apt development...US$300k+...big rooms...underfinaced it seems ..only one Townhouse of 15....location ok...good view of the bay...and nearby rooftops...

Saw sm oveley land up in the Hills...can't believe upper Cardiff Hall still has no RUNNING or PIPED water..what is NWC doing???

Drivers...esp taxis...mad...

Car Rental even with 'special rate' is US$63/day...costing over a 1k for the stay...Toyota Corolla..good mileage...

Gas price high...relatively speaking...

People more upbeat than last year...but I sense sm economic pressure in sm quarters...

to be cont....

Thank You!

I appreciate this post, Exile. Hoping your Part II will be posted soon.

Thanks for the info Exile.Post more when you get the time.

I took a look at the Richmond models 2 years ago I think and thought they were quite nice. Wife love them and the area. All JA residential developments seem to be priced high , but I guess somebody buying them.

My impressions are that generally speaking, customer service has improved somewhat in JA.

rath.. tings bad when tourist dem a give analysis !

Richmond Estates is in Priory St. Ann by the way.. did you like the surveillance set up at the Entry Gate ?

Originally posted by Exile View Post

Alcohol..much cheaper than TT...esp wine..but Jamaicans nuh really drink so much...

Housing - tekking over...too much good agric land for housing...esp in Old Harbour/spanish Twn area...nice 'low cost homes' though...Ja 5M now $7M...2 br....solar heater etc...good land space...
          Jamaicans nuh really drink?

$7M houses?

Jamaicans in Jamaican don't really drink much...sip sip...
            Yes...$7M - what's the joke about...working class homes...yu wouldn't know bout dat...

Just sharing some info yute....why you like nitpick so...why unnu love fight 'gainst JAMAICANS who don't live in Ja??? Ah bway.....

Originally posted by Exile View Post
                Jamaicans in Jamaican don't really drink much...sip sip...
                Yes...$7M - what's the joke about...working class homes...yu wouldn't know bout dat...
                All police station have rumbar in Jamaica...it stay suh in Trini? Yuh nah get no working class house fi less than $17 mil...studio apartment for $7 mil maybe or a old old old house...

can you really compare gas prices in JA to T&T though, would that be fair?

All that too...

Wasn't making a fair comparison really...just an obs. Plus more driving in Ja...

Hold on.. yuh ah Jamaican ?!

ah wheh di ??

Historian....had so much more to share but it looks like JAMAICANS who don't live in JA no supposed to post bout Jamaica....too much antagonism....I guess the parochial view must remain.....'everytin criss'...'we run tings', ' a so de ting set', 'is big man tings'.

I shoulda ask yu dat!!! Yu belong to de state of Campion....still in schoolboy mindset...

Police Station IS de rumbar...lol...
                              JA$7.85M...memba yu a uptowner....