• There are Hip-hop artistes and there are

hip-hop moguls.

Side Node: Branded Headphones? Who would have thought there was a multi-million business there? The music sales are a side-show it seems.

http://www.forbes.com/sites/zackomal...hiest-artists/

1. Sean "Diddy" Combs ($550 million)
    Diddy has remained a mainstream mainstay for 15 years thanks to his knack for self-promotion. Lately, he’s been channeling that energy toward Ciroc vodka, much to the benefit of his bank account: he receives double-digit millions annually as a share of the spirit’s profits. Better yet, he’s entitled to a nine-figure chunk of cash if Ciroc is ever sold. He also boasts stakes in clothing lines Sean John and Enyce, marketing firm Blue Flame, record label Bad Boy, a handful of tech startups and cable channel Revolt, slated for a 2013 debut—all of which means he’s well on his way to becoming hip-hop’s first billionaire

2. Shawn "Jay-Z" Carter ($460 million)
    Unlike his fellow Forbes Five members, Jay-Z still churns out music and goes on tour—most recently with pal Kanye West—adding to his considerable war chest. He sold his Rocawear clothing label for $204 million in 2007 and signed 10-year $150 million deal with Live Nation in 2008, and also holds stakes in the New Jersey Nets, his 40/40 Club chain, ad firm Translation, cosmetics company Carol’s Daughter and other businesses. (For more on his rise as a businessmen, check out Zack's Jay-Z biography, Empire State of Mind).

3. Andre "Dr. Dre" Young ($260 million)
    Fittingly, the bulk of this super-producer’s wealth comes from headphones. In August, handset maker HTC paid $300m to buy a 51% stake Beats Electronics, the company founded by Dr. Dre and Interscope chief Jimmy Iovine in 2008. Sources say each owned a third of the company before the deal, placing Dre’s cut at $85 million after taxes. The agreement also values his remaining stake at $100 million, which could increase rapidly as the company continues to expand.

4. Bryan "Birdman" Williams ($125 million)
    The Cash Money Records cofounder would be higher on this list if he held sole ownership of his label, but he shares it with brother Ronald “Slim” Williams. The duo founded Cash Money two decades ago, inking very favorable $30 million distribution deal with Universal in 1998. The label’s value has soared with the success of rappers Drake, Nicki Minaj and Lil Wayne (who shares in the ownership of sub-label Young Money). There’s even more cash on the horizon—the label’s deal with Universal is up this summer, raising the prospect of a bidding war for the right to distribute Cash Money’s releases.

5. Curtis "50 Cent" Jackson ($110 million)
    The Queens-born rapper earned $100 million for his Vitaminwater stake in 2007, and then spent freely on cars and renovations to his Connecticut mansion, formerly owned by Mike Tyson. But a nice cushion remains from his back catalog, acting gigs and 50 Cent-themed videogames, books and clothes, as well as new headphone line SMS. Next up: an energy shot called Street King, which promises to feed hungry children—and 50’s bank account.
    Last edited by Islandman; April 18, 2012, 02:50 PM.

Wait ... I wasn't aware Birdman had that much money. Bling bling .. everytime I roll up in the city bling bling.

What? Lil Wayne & Nikki Minaj are on his label...he is paid...surprised Akon didn't make it...

Its only when I saw a documentary on Lil Wayne that I realised how much Cash Money made.

What yuh saying? God bless America?

You muss haffi bring up that huh King Jawge?

Ninjaman, vybes cartel, helifantman, terry genzie...well rich tuh...yes?

God Bless America for establishing free market capitalism as a road to a nations economic success, yes. Its a pity Joshua never really learn the lesson until it was too late

Along with putting the first man on the moon that may be her greatest legacy.

The current group of Jamaican government leaders are struggling to learn lessons in economy and what makes it successful.

Ok...enough of the 3 a yuh.stroking each other's Americanism...ur analogy with Manley's era is disingenious at best...over 200 yrs vs less than 30....yu know betta than that....world leading 1st world vs struggling 3rd World...maybe you check out the first 50 years of independent USA...we not doing that bad...

Well, the Manley thing was a deliberate friendly jab at Jawge with his seemingly incompatible worship of Manley's 70s world view and of the US system of govt at the same time.

That said, I do believe the US system of free enterprise is mostly what has made them the great superpower of the last 100 years. As for Manley generally, my opinions on him are mixed but in hindsight I think he got the macro-economics side of it wrong. Socialism just does not have a good track record.

While all is not lost, JA has underperformed dramatically and there is no getting away from that. Yes its only 50 years but we not living in the 1700s now, nations have many more opportunities to lift themselves up from poverty in todays world and many have done so.

Jamaica still has a lot of things in its favor to be economically successful. Lets see how we kick off the next 50 years.

True...all true..unnu ruff pon Jawge eh...

I think him enjoy the punishment. LOL.

Without this http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kE_o3unHwvY, it would not have been possible.

actually her greatest Legacy is the Bill of Rights and her Constitution..

Magnificent..

lol !

Brother you have got to be joking..

Put 2 Million chiney man or ****** man pon dis island located strategically where it is with its natural logistics capacities and yuh si bout 'not doing that bad'.. Singapore woulda be a bwoy to wi..

Snap out of the denial..

Wi dun phuked up royally...