This flag fiasco is really getting on my nerves now

• This flag fiasco is really getting on my nerves now

I was unequivocal about the fact that the green should not have been left out and any attempt to excuse it was just wrong.

The PNP made it into a mountain when it should have remained a molehill.

But, let's deal with this flag thing. Does the black still stand for hardships? If so, then I would congratulate the first political party or whatever group that leaves it off its flag decor at its next function.

I had the good fortune to visit the country that Jamaica should have become - Singapore - recently. As I went about the country and spoke to some of its citizens and expatriates, I got an appreciation for what makes that country tick, and it sure does tick!

I was there for almost a week and never once did I see a flag. If I did not consult the Internet, I would not recall what their flag looked like. Singapore, the country we would like to reciprocatingly emulate, is not hung up on national symbols. The symbols that matter are all around you - glistening skyscrapers, 7 series and S-class, and zero crime.

The country is still the only English-Speaking nation in all of south east Asia as they sought take advantage of America's status and that of their former colonisers. Now, all the students are learning Mandarin as they position themselves for the Asian takeover.

Flag? What flag?!?

Dem hung up on Guvnah Raffles though. LoL

In 2003 the Nekklfud commission's recommendation was accepted and the definition of the black changed from "hardships there are" to the "strong and vibrant people".

We really need to bring back civics to skools and Jamal. LoL

I thought that was the case, but we always seem to come back to the old meaning. That hardship crap should be struck from our memories and our civics books!

English-Speaking? What a novel idea

not that novel, it started in england!

Never quite caught on in Jamaica it seems

yeah .... but it seems dancehall did ...

Bettah late dan nevah...

Mi nevah set foot ovah deh.. mi nevah haffi.. when man talk bout Quixotic behaviour unnuh muss listen..

Go forth and sin no more..

imagine if Merica claim di White in dem Flag represent the people...

lol ! woiee !!

You have a convert, now you just need to turn him into an Apostle. LOL!

him off tuh a good start !!

him soon start bawl fi Latte and Jazz dungtown !

Not to mention the super-secret DSJ project dat Nanny P a go buss next week. LOL.

Since you choose to shirt the topic of the desecrating of the jamaican flag; I hope you came away with how backward Singapore makes Jamaica appear--considering the equal start of each country....

But back to the "flag fiasco":

Flag desecration (or flag abuse) is a term applied to various acts that intentionally destroy, damage or mutilate a flag in public, most often a national flag. Often, such action is intended to make a political point against a country or its policies. Some countries have laws forbidding methods of destruction (such as burning in public) or forbidding particular uses (such as for commercial purposes); such laws may distinguish between desecration of the country's own national flag and flags of other countries

Good for you to visit Singapore and observe, I have being touting that country for years on this site.

Subways & Highways, harbor full of ships, cleaner than a whistle, parks and well manicured lawns along the highway.

A people that produce quality goods.... nuff said.

wheh name DSJ ?

ah juss likkle App competition shi ah guh talk bout.. and it nuh secret.. is juss certain man want tuh know di full hundred...

dem nuh have time fi fooliness !