• How to be Ready when Panama Buss

Big Opportunities In Maritime Sector
    Published: Monday | April 16, 2012 1 Comment

Fritz Pinnock, executive director of the Caribbean Maritime Institute (CMI), gave eye-opening figures last Thursday during a presentation at the CMI to sensitise stakeholders and investors about the various job and investment opportunities in the sector.

Pinnock was joined by Jamaica College (JC) principal, Ruel Reid, and HEART Trust/NTA Executive Director Dr Carolyn Hayle as all three entities have come together to bring awareness to the sector's bright potential - potential which is even greater in light of the expansion of the Panama Canal, slated to be completed in 2014.

Pointing to "electro-mechanical technician" as one occupation arising from the industry, Pinnock said that maritime was about more than ports.

"This position can earn, in Belgium, €7,000 a month as a starting salary. Here in Jamaica we can target 2,000 of these people times €84,000 per year. That's over J$20 billion in salary. That's just one small position," he argued.

Pinnock noted that when an individual works on a ship, his way is paid so he have no expenses like rent. Putting it in context, he suggested that those workers could give back more to the island.

"I'm sure 40 to 50 per cent of that (investment) could come from remittances. What an impact that would have on Jamaica's economy!" he said.

Strategically positioned

Pinnock used The Philippines as an example of a nation putting the maritime sector to good use.

"Today, over 400,000 jobs and over 15 per cent of their GDP comes from just remittances from the maritime area. Jamaica, that is so strategically positioned ... there is tremendous opportunity here and the opportunity lies beyond just the expansion of the physical port facility," he said.

He pointed out that the industry was integrated as many of the engineers who come back from tours are snapped up by companies in other fields.

"During the recession, the Airports Authority was putting out ads 'preferably CMI graduates'. Why? Because they were coming with discipline and they were multi-faceted. Here is an industry that can hit the job market in a big way and we're doing more talking than action," he said.

Also addressing the meeting, Reid read the latest International Labour Organization executive summary report which stated that there was a global backlog of unemployment of 200 million.

"In addition, more than 400 million new jobs will be needed over the next decade to avoid further increase in unemployment," he noted.

The JC principal opined that Jamaica's economy was not meeting its potential and that the maritime sector could help change that.

"We have another opportunity through maritime to catch up and be the Singapore of the West. We want to make this our vision of 2030 - to use these maritime possibilities to be the catalyst to make the right structural adjustments to our economy," he said.

Reid asked guests to dream of a sector that could generate upwards of J$2.5 billion additional foreign exchange earnings, and a sector that could produce upwards of 30,000 high-paying jobs.

Thinking post-2014, he also envisioned six per cent annualised GDP growth.

Hayle, in her contribution, encouraged potential students in the industry to not only get certified, but to know how to apply their knowledge in the real world.

"You can't have a skill without being able to have the academic underpinnings that translate that knowledge into real-time opportunities," she said.

Major opportunity

Hayle noted that the global distribution system for any economy was made up of elements dealing with the air, sea, and information and communications technology.

Business process outsourcing, which she said more foreign investors were asking her agency about, is a major opportunity in the global market as it entails the IT component.

She was of the view that the collaboration of the three local entities would get Jamaica's graduates ready.

"So if we have the skills on the ground in terms of maritime, with the HEART skills, with maritime as well as the IT and logistics that are taught here at CMI, you can see that we have great opportunities," said Hayle.

The event expanded on the memorandum of understanding signed between the CMI and JC last year, with JC being a feeder programme for the CMI.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...ead/lead4.html

Your principal is working overtime eh? Great to see.

When I was in Panama year it was clear what the expanded canal was going to do for them. Right now it can only handle ships of a certain size.

Most days when you wake up and look is bout 2 dozen ship outta sea a wait fe come through. Dem haffe pay dem toll and Panama check the bank fe mek sure dat clear before dem can enter. Cash cow me a tell you.

Have to admit that I didn't even think about any opportunities for JA from the expansion. Very interesting figures.

Yes the Canal expansion can be a real economic driver if we leverage correctly...with infrastructure as we're doing but also training in advanced maritime & other skills.

When aviation & ground transport is integrated into a Jamaican logistics supply chain...there's massive upside potential

But we can always choose to be confined to stewards, cooks, cleaners and oh yes..trinket sellers.. as in the current cruise ship business model

New Paradigm wi seh
      Last edited by Don1; April 16, 2012, 08:13 AM.

The key figure here should be UTech.

UTech is our MIT, our Caltech.
        Instead a waste time pon business studies, dem should be cranking out the Engineers, Logistics experts (applied Mathematicians) and technicians ASAP.

We aggo need dem (nuff nuff) fi post Panama Xpansion.

Dry dock will need nuff engineers and such sorts.
        So will the multi-modal transport system and the de-bulkers.
        We will also have nuff-nuff spinoff industies.

Jamaica is located in the midst of the best north to south shipping lanes in the Western Hemisphere. Is like we are the toll gate...and we have the Harbour to boot.

Long time mi tell unno seh the Causeway is a joke. Di Chiney dem will have lick it out intermede, as it cuts off a third of the PRIME port location and pay Bougeuys (sp?) a smalls fi gwaan cool.

So them nuh have no polution on thems ship deh?

You just hate Cruise tourism. Why not both, does it stop development of the port. Open your mind.

But Sass even with the cruise ships them have need fe nuff technical staff.

When me go pon a cruise last year we run the bars and the restaurants, but when you go inna the areas where the maintenance staff is (technical me mean not room maintenance), pure white and Asian.

Dat is where we always get left behind. Even with the things we good at, except for the few superstars, the real money is made by others.

Open my mind? To what....Adoration of a limited, low end tourism product like yours? No thanks.

Government subsidy of mass cruise tourism is a sub-optimal investment. This means that while there are positives in the trinket selling and fat tourists playing with dolphins etc... more productive ways to spend public money exist... when the opportunity-cost analysis is done.

If the private sector wants cruising... let them fund it.

If you take that simplistically as "hating Cruise Tourism".... ah fi yuh bizniz dat...yuh stuck inna di 1980s Love Boat Paradigm

Love, exciting and new
              Come Aboard. We're expecting you.
              Love, life's sweetest reward.
              Let it flow, it floats back to you.

Love Boat soon will be making another run
              The Love Boat promises something for everyone
              Set a course for adventure,
              Your mind on a new romance.

Gwaan Bartlett!!

Bartlett ??

Nuh ongly 4 year him did deh deh ??

wirl nuh level atall..

unnuh evah ah fight gainst Black Man..

Agree on all.

Must tell you I was VERY disappointed when UTech got into Law, Tourism etc... Isn't that what my beloved Intellectual Ghetto is for?
                  Now they're going head over heels in love with sport...even planning to build a campus around it at that Trelawny White Elephant Stadium.

UTech should focus on STEM... just like CalTech, MIT or Technion.... yuh rite

More strategic planning needed

Nor blaming Mr Ed... he was a good tourism Shill

An Expert Yapper... aks Butch

Butch ?

mi hear seh him a big time criminal.. based on document circulating...

:-)

Butch ?

mi hear seh him a big time criminal.. based on document circulating...

:-)

I hope you jest

suh wait.. yuh nevah get di document innah yuh inbox.. it was a guh viral..

mi did tink it was outta di Butch Fan club dat you and Mosiah di form.. den mi get tuh unnastan is a next fan of Butch from Florida..

Are all cruises low end? Can our local businesses like craft vendor, bus drivers and entertainment make money off shipping?

The fact is the cruise industry is moving where the cruise liners are going in partnership with government as with the falmouth Pier. So money can be made if negociated right. You need to use the same standard for both. Both are not really environment friendly and if we smart we can make money off both.

You think the JUTA taxi drivers that line up a port income can be replaced by Shipping?

LOL... mi nuh mean Butch nuh harm lika dat... im entertain wi pon im yacht couple time back inna di day wen it used to pull up ah Battery Park City suh respek due

Mi did ear bout ah likkle ting whe ah claim im an PJ etc inna some tings but mi nuh get nuh detail

Den mi ear seh dem ketch di bredda