From what I see when we train our people these liners have no problem taking them and it is a good way for some to save a money as if you work for a few years you don't have to pay for lodging and the workers usually head back home. All we have to do is provide these training to our people.
How to be Ready when Panama Buss
Are all cruises low end? Can our local businesses like craft vendor, bus drivers and entertainment make money off shipping?
With a large logistics/supply chain operation there is little demand for craft vendors or taxis.
However there will be massive demand for trucking workers, rail transport labor, product assembly, package handling, ICT, shipping technicians, aircraft management and maintenance etc etc
Open your mind
The fact is the cruise industry is moving where the cruise liners are going in partnership with government as with the falmouth Pier. So money can be made if negociated right. You need to use the same standard for both. Both are not really environment friendly and if we smart we can make money off both.
It's a sub-optimal investment... Open your mind
You think the JUTA taxi drivers that line up a port income can be replaced by Shipping?
We need more value adding forms of employment.
Open your mindTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Suh 'wan mill-li-han ears aftah mi a seh products 'workers' fi export ebrybaddi a jump pan board?
Bettah late dan neva!
Poised fi tek-aff mi seh!!!"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Do you even think of the word POTENTIAL. that we can actually grow the average take, have more cruise liners and government can actually take more tax.
Currently most of our ports in shipping are operating at a lost and it has the same potential that the cruise industry has. It is up to our leaders to deliver.
STOP HATING as you once stated about trinkets and middle America. There is a huge potential in cruise tourism, just as in shipping.
The same trickle down effect is what build small communities and if the taxi drivers and vendors provide goods and very good service they stand a better chance of carving out a decent living and growing a business. How can they do that from shipping?????- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Yuh lost... mi dun wid yuh
Gone ah street...in the interim research "opportunity cost"TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
yeah I am lost, I am not open to your mindset.
yeah right as if I don't know what is opportunity cost. How many ports are we currently utilising for shipping and where are they located.
There is no need to think we can't have progressive shipping industry and a progressive cruise industry. absolutely none. Most progressive countries have both and don't have to think about having one or the other.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Exactly...but first you need to have enough "trainable" people. Comes right back to early childhood and secondary education as the foundation.
If you can't comfortably read a manual me nuh think you can train to be a electro-mechanical technician. Willi done talk bout HVAC technicians and other such careers long time.
Not to say we shouldn't train people for the hospitality industry as well, but I think we already have candidates in abundance for that."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
Good points. What does UTech stands for again?Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*.
05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
I-Man that is why I said to check out Runaway Bay HEART academy. The hotel name now change. Amongst the courses offerred while I was there was hotel maintenance and Landscaping. In the maintence course you had HVAC and all the aspect of maintaining a hotel. These students were in high demand from he hotels. Even today one of my friend is the landscaping manager of one of the top hotels in Ja. Another one is doing maintenance for a top American airline at their base hub.
We simply don't have enough training spaces for this kind of thing- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by Assasin View Postyeah I am lost, I am not open to your mindset.
yeah right as if I don't know what is opportunity cost. How many ports are we currently utilising for shipping and where are they located.
There is no need to think we can't have progressive shipping industry and a progressive cruise industry. absolutely none. Most progressive countries have both and don't have to think about having one or the other.
Why: Because the value add is very low... and there are far more productive investments for public funds than facilitating in bond merchants, attraction owners, trinket sellers and taxi drivers.
Now if for example the cruise lines wish to home port vessels in Jamaica or even just to provision them with Jamaican products rather than doing all that in Miami... in exchange for Govt funding their port facilities ... that would be a totally different value proposition.... lots of spinoffs from that
If Jamaica wishes to progress ...Jamaica has to move up the value chain. If we wish to mark time...Jamaica can continue facilitating the sale of trinkets and other low value pursuits with tax dollars
Open your mindTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Originally posted by Islandman View PostWhen me go pon a cruise last year we run the bars and the restaurants, but when you go inna the areas where the maintenance staff is (technical me mean not room maintenance), pure white and Asian.
.Eatin' Drinkin' Singin' Dancin' Runnin' Playin' ... ah we run dat
=Assasin;351611
We simply don't have enough training spaces for this kind of thing
Thanks for making the point SassTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE