• Warning: Excessive Babylon can be injurious to your Health

Racism gave Jamaican man a heart attack
    André Brown’s wife tells her story
    BY KARYL WALKER Observer online news editor walkerk@jamaicaobserver.com
    Sunday, April 15, 2012

This is the conclusion of a story on the trials of a biracial family living in the United States.

FOR Rita Brown, a white Danish woman who is married to black Jamaican André Brown, the racist attacks on her family and herself have only served to strengthen her resolve.

Coming from a more liberal background than she has now found in America’s deep south, Brown was given a baptism of fire when she decided to live there with her husband and raise their biracial children. She is now convinced that large swathes of US society are far less tolerant of interracial marriages than her homeland of Denmark, where people are less hostile towards people of colour.

Brown has been the victim of abuse from both sides of the racial divide. She has been called ‘************ lover’, ‘white trash’. She has been spat at, refused service, heckled, and has faced many other forms of race discrimination because she fell in love with and married a black man.
    In fact, Brown told the Sunday Observer that she has never fully warmed to white Americans.

“I don’t socialise with white people in America. Once I started to integrate in American society, I have never been able to relate to white people in America because they are not me. They often compare me to being a white American but I have to explain to people that I’m not. I was born and raised in Europe. I come with a mind that is built on a different kind of foundation. I was raised without racism,” she declared.

The sharp contrast between the mindset among most people in her homeland in comparison with the US gave her a jolt when she decided to live in North America.

Full Hundred

As everyone knows, we don't need research to know that racism has an impact on mental & physical health.

Racism and Mental Health
    http://www.lsic.ucla.edu/classes/psy...ntalHealth.pdf

Racism hurts kids' mental health
    http://www.usatoday.com/news/health/...pression_N.htm

Orlando again.

I got a call early this morning about this article. Personally I don't know what's the observer's agenda here. Yes there is racism in america but at the same time the US boasts some of the richest black men in the world. You have a black business class in america. Although small in number compared to whites blacks are contributing to science in the US.

What the caller told me is that in JA; you have Rhodes scholars and all yet they own nothing. The same set of people control businesses in JA (regardless of educational background) There is no business class in Ja that reflects its population. Blacks are only educated to work for the planter class, no real economic power. Racism is very strong in Ja. Blacks only dominate in higglering, selling drugs or other criminal activities in the underground economy. One billion is sent in from relatives abroad yet blacks own nothing of significance in Ja.

Yes I agree, Observer clean your house first.

Have to agree with you brother.

Oh ...so because Jamaica is corrupt and backward, the USA is exempt from criticism??

Both the US and Jamaica...and indeed all nations should be subject to constructive & objective criticism

I notice that you cannot abide any criticism of the USA...why is this?

Appears to be intellectual cowardice or some kind of supplicant syndrome at werk

What are you taking about Don?.

That BOTH the US and Jamaica have racial problems...of different characteristics of course. There's much to criticize even as we can recognize progress.

Jawge seems to wish to minimize or gloss over any social or other issues the US has and be extremely defensive when there's any criticism of the country .... what the rationale is I'm not sure

Is only yute wheh guh good school coulda suh brazen !

I have to say that this really surprises me. Windermere is not like Rosewood and Sanford that are southern small town communities on the outskirts of Central FL, it is an exclusive neighbourhood in the heart of Orlando. In fact that is the location of the Isleworth community is where the celebrities like Tiger, Shaq, etc have thier residences. I would say I drive through Windermere at least once a week.

Its not that there is racism that surprises me but the signs on the lawn and that kind of thing really does. In fact I was even thinking about registering my daughter for tennis at a facility there.

I guess I need to watch local news more often.

That is where i know the name Windemere from...TIGER!

King Jawge!!

Why you krushin' corn like that?

You mek some man a stammah...tying themselves in knots...

Have to agree wid you on all counts!

Unsurprising prattle.... signifying nothing

Thank you so much for the post. It's really useful.
                            Dublin Escorts

who you fah?