• UTech students to investigate child abuse cases

UTech students to investigate child abuse cases

Friday, April 13, 2012

STUDENTS of the University of Technology (UTech) will be assisting in the investigation of child abuse cases referred to the Child Development Agency (CDA) by the Office of the Children’s Registry, as part of an agreement signed between the university and the CDA.

http://m.jamaicaobserver.com/mobile/...ld-abuse-cases

That is a biscuit I would abuse any day

Apologies to all, I don't mean to trivialise the situation regarding abuse in Jamaica , or anywhere for that matter, especially where kids are involved.

snicker

Do we really need UTech students doing this?!?! Nothing better for them to occupy their time with?

Here is what a Singapore university is doing: http://news.ntu.edu.sg/pages/newsdet...=Media+Reports

Smaddy gonna get banned

We made a decision in 1972.. you cannot have your cake and eat it.. juss mek sure yuh have yuh UTECH Invitational Ticket and medi pon one a Bob tune..

Singapore cyaan tess dat..

we need all hands on deck for every problem

What are they oing to investigate?

The psychsocial causes and effects of child abuse, or doin a criminal investigation with the intent of prosecution, or both?.

The last thing we need is an academic paper outlining the causes of child abuse without recommendations to end it and punish perps.

Wi ah wuk pon one (sub orbital) satellite... ow yuh did know??

From grung to sea to air get cova areddy....dat ah di ongly ting leff

Space-Time Continuum tuh di Werl!!!!

lol

Sounds to me like they will just be getting some practical experience working out in the field and earning some credits in the process.

“students will earn credits via community hours by becoming investigating officers for the CDA following appropriate training as well as acting as counsellors in children’s homes”.

According to Hanna, level three child and adolescent development students will assist in investigating child abuse cases, while others will volunteer with residential child care.
                        Seems like a sensible and practical thing to do if you are studying in that field.

No we don't! All of us don't need to work on all our problems!

Are you serious?

Agree, this is a very good move on the part of the govt. i do hope thy tke it to the graduate level. HL once asked how many publications were coming out of Ja's tertiary institutions in recognized journals. I think he was viewed with disdain. This is a positive start. Ionly hopethey don't run away ith this knowledge.

sooo only some of us must work on our problems?