• Now here's a Game Jamaica should seek to Dominate

Jamaica Third Overall At Carifta Chess
    Published: Friday | April 13, 20120 Comments

Claire Clarke, Contributor

Carifta success

Two Jamaican Carifta Chess champions were crowned this week in Trinidad at the Inaugural Carifta Chess Tournament - Sheneal Gardner for the girls Under-12 section and Stuart James in the open Under-20 category. Jamaica with its 10-member team placed third overall in the tournament and collected the most awards.

Other winners and awards in from the squad of 12 players who returned this week included a third-place Carifta title for Shreyas Smith in the open Under-16 section, a gold-medal award to Alistair Walker who was fourth in this section after ending on the same points as Shreyas Smith; Rachel Miller playing in open section of the open Under-12 section was awarded the second-place Carifta title, while Elias Issa who finished fifth in this section was awarded a silver medal. Nathan Chin played in open Under-12 and was awarded a category age-group prize of a gold medal for being the best Under-8 player.

The rest of the team representing Jamaica in the April 6-10 tournament included: Justin Lowe, Jordan Lowe, Michael Lowe, Nathan Balifante and National Master Mikhail Solomon (who played in an Open tournament that ran concurrently).

Challenge the Mind Linstead tournament results

Ewarton Primary dominated the winners' circle when approximately 200 kids gathered at the Dinthill Technical High School in Linstead, St Catherine, two weeks ago, to match their wits in the NCB-sponsored Challenge the Mind Chess. This series has, for the first time, ventured out of the city.

Full Hundred

you support the emphasis on this one?

Absolutely... even though I cannot play it

This group led by attorney-at-law Ian Wlikenson has been trying a ting with pushing the game among young people in JA. The website kinda flaky but ..

http://magnificentchess.net

I enjoy the game myself though I do not play much anymore. Great way for young people to develop skills in critical thinking and reasoning. This is the kind of activity that is inexpensive to get involved in and there is much value in it. Earlier this year I bought 5 chess sets and 2 timing clocks, came up to about $120. Just that can keep 10 youths fully occupied for hours on end.

Benefits of Playing Chess

http://www.susanpolgar.com/susan-pol...-benefits.html

Yes...Chess is a super activity for kids... that group is On the Money

BTW... I wish I could build a website like that

LoL
            YUh never heard about Sheldon Wong.

Jawges back inna the 1970s. We use to run chess.

Mi see da breddah deh play 9 other members of the chess team ann beat 8 of them in 5 mins and the last one took 5 mins more.

name sound vaguely familiar yes