• $682 million collected from new traffic ticketing system Jam

$682 million collected from new traffic ticketing system
    Jamaica Observer
    Friday, April 06, 2012

THE Government has collected $682 million from the a new traffic ticketing system over the last 18 months.
    According to Vice Chairman of the National Road Safety Council (NRSC), Dr Lucien Jones, the new system has been achieving significant success since its implementation.
    “We have a new ticketing system and already over 700,000 tickets have been issued within the last 18 months, worth $1.6 billion, and of that, $682 million has been collected and if we look at what is presently in the courts, 70 per cent is already accounted for,” he said.
    The new system allows the Police to use a hand-held device to track motorists who have outstanding tickets.
    Speaking at the NRSC press briefing and launch of the national road safety poster competition, at Jamaica House, yesterday Jones said road safety is a matter of grave importance and the NRSC will be intensifying its public education drive.
    “To protect our children from being ushered into the use of alcohol too early, and we are going to be working with the various ministries to start a new emergency response system,” he said.
    He said discussions are underway regarding an electronic surveillance system.
    “We can’t have a policeman on every corner of the road, so we have to begin to use the technology,” he added.
    He also called on Jamaicans to refrain from drinking alcohol and driving, and to desist from exceeding the speed limit.
    “All of us have to use the road and all of us have been touched by relatives and friends who have died. This does not have to happen, so we are here standing in the gap to ensure that we continue to reduce fatalities on the road,” he said.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...#ixzz1rJ1mNqXg

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Like i said previously, if we take a quality of life initiative as a means of looking at growth Jamaica can rake in billions.

Side walks and fences next !

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

The archivists among us may be able to pull up a post I made about this some months ago. Just to state it again, I believe we have so many traffic law violators that if we step up the monitoring, ticketing and collection of the violators we would rake in billions.

Some posters countered saying it would not work because of our corrupt police. Which brings us back to why we need a decent police force.

I believe the 682 is the tip of the iceberg, they probably modernised the antiquated ticket system with new equipment,not through any new initiative to crack down or implement quality of life laws.

And we still can't get our roads fixed...what sense is it raking in all these "millions" if we don't see where it is going? And you trust the police to wield this kinda power? My friend got a ticket the other day cause he pulled over to check for a flat tire...the police pull out a big book and went through it searching for a specific violation...he didn't know what to give a ticket for but he wanted to give a ticket so he found something in the big book...

The last two traffic tickets I received were for a blown rear license plate light. The police thought I had a blown headlamp, but didn't.

That's why i drive with a farrin licence...I am perpetually staying at the Pegasus and leaving the island in the morning...even when they do issue the ticket i just crush it up and throw it weh...

Dem still gi yuh ticket?

Sometimes...man all write "PEGASUS" in the address field

What a day when they update their technology fi ketch fareeners like you. I remember years ago I came to the states on vacation and got a speeding ticket. I had my Jamaican International DL and gave it to the Babylon. Years later when I migrated and went to the DMV to get my DL, the system showed that that I still had the outstanding unpaid ticket. Me nearly dead!!!! I had to find the likkle town and go pay the ticket before me coulda get the damn licence.
                    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015