Did you hear about Howard Morgan the black cop?

• Did you hear about Howard Morgan the black cop?

Ex-Chicago cop gets 40 years for shooting four officers

By Lauren FitzPatrick Sun-Times Media April 6, 2012 7:48AM

A Cook County judge on Thursday sentenced a former Chicago police officer to 40 years in prison for wounding four Chicago cops during a February 2005 shootout in which the gunman was shot 28 times.
    Howard Morgan, 61, was convicted in a retrial in January of four counts of attempted murder. In his first trial in 2007, a jury deadlocked on the attempted murder charges and acquitted him of aggravated battery and discharging his weapon.
    Thursday’s hearing was held in a courtroom crowded with police officers, Occupy Chicago protesters and bow-tied members of the Nation of Islam — reflecting the racially charged incident involving a black railroad police officer and four white officers.
    During a routine stop at 19th Street and Lawndale Avenue, Morgan became uncooperative while officers tried to handcuff him, grabbed an unregistered handgun and opened fire, unloading 17 rounds at police, prosecutors said. Officers returned fire, hitting him 28 times. Three of the four responding officers were shot, though none had life-threatening wounds, according to prosecutors.
    At the time of the shooting, Morgan was employed as a patrolman for the Burlington Northern Santa Fe Railroad, a job he took after 8½ years with Chicago police, his attorney, Randolph N. Stone, said. Stone told Circuit Court Judge Clayton Crane that Morgan has no other criminal history.
    But Assistant State’s Attorney Dan Groth called Morgan a “sociopath” for trying to kill four uniformed police officers.
    “Society needs to be protected from him,” he said.
    Officer Eric White, who was shot in a leg, told the judge that he drove his wounded partner, Nicholas Olsen, to the hospital after the shootings.
    “By the grace of God, all of us, including Howard Morgan, survived that morning,” White read from a statement. “The bullet fragment in my leg doesn’t really bother me. The one I heard and felt whiz past my left ear gives me nightmares, and watching as he shot (Officer) John Wrigley in the chest will torment me forever.”
    Wrigley,who said he survived that shot thanks to a bulletproof vest, told Morgan that he had shown “no remorse or accountability in regards to your actions and choices that night. In fact, you have done the opposite. You attempted to hide behind the racial fears of our community.”
    Morgan made no apology and no plea for mercy to the judge. He spoke of his 21 years of work in law enforcement and insisted he was attacked.
    “God bless my wife and family, and it’s all in God’s hands and I have nothing else to say, thank you,” he told Crane.
    The judge did not believe Morgan’s account, telling him “I have no idea what possessed your actions that night.”
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Thursday, April 5, 2012
    UPDATE: Howard Morgan sentenced to 40 years

by Kathy Chaney
    Rosalind Morgan said God saved her husband Howard Morgan from 28 bullets and she trusts God to be the “ram in the bush” Thursday when the former police officer is sentenced for the attempted murders of four Chicago police officers.

Howard Morgan was acquitted of multiple aggravated battery charges against four Chicago police officers in 2007. He was retried and convicted this year on four counts of attempted murder.

Morgan’s due in court April 5 for sentencing.

“My husband is innocent,” Rosalind Morgan told the Defender.

Morgan, a former eight-year Chicago police officer, was heading home after his shift at the Burlington Northern Sante Fe Railroad Co. ended Feb. 21, 2005 when he was stopped by four officers shortly after midnight.

Police said Morgan’s van lights were off and he was going the wrong way down a one-way street on 19th Street and Lawndale Avenue.

Morgan said he was pulled out of the van and pummeled by the officers, even after he identified himself as a police officer. A brief struggle ensued as Morgan attempted to retrieve his identification. One of the officers searched him and found his gun in his waistband and yelled, “Gun!” according to defense testimony at the first trial.

Morgan’s body was riddled with 28 gunshot wounds –– 21 to the backside and seven to the front side, his wife said.

Related Content:

Bowman’s ‘Love’s’ debuts in MarchBears DE Peppers may miss Vikings game South Sudan: An African American OpportunityDaley wants mayoral library display for him, dad Anazette Collins chosen to replace Hendon in SenateAiley fans bid Jamison a fond, raucous farewell Related to:Our cityhoward morganRosalind morganKathy chaneychicago defender

“My husband was shot like an animal. Half of his colon was cut away due to the bullets. They were trying to murder Mr. Morgan. When he lived they concocted a story,” Mrs. Morgan said through tears.

Morgan’s bond was initially set at $2 million, an amount that shocked retired Judge Leo Holt, one of the attorneys representing Morgan.

“The defense asked Judge [Clayton J.] Crane to reduce bond to $600,000 and he honored the request,” Holt said in 2007.

After the original bond amount was determined, Mrs. Morgan raised the $200,000 needed for her husband to be released. He was released on bond November 2005.

After the second trial earlier this year his bond was revoked and Morgan was taken into custody on January 27.

“We asked if he could stay out on bond, but they denied our request. I couldn’t even hug my husband before they took him away. He’s not a flight risk and never missed a court hearing. He’s dangerous because he’s an African-American man,” his wife said.

Mrs. Morgan refuses to fathom the uncertain reality her husband may spend the rest of his life behind bars.

“I’m not claiming that; I rebuke it in the name of Jesus,” she stressed.

Copyright 2012 Chicago Defender
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Howard Morgan was sentenced Thursday to 40 years in prison.

A 61-year-old Chicago man who was shot 28 times by Chicago police officers in 2005 -- and lived to tell his side of the story -- was sentenced early Thursday afternoon to serve 40 years in prison, essentially a life sentence.
      Howard Morgan, himself a former Chicago police officer, was sentenced on an attempted murder charge Thursday, the Chicago Sun-Times reports.
      NBC Chicago's Michelle Relerford tweeted from the sentencing that Morgan said, "I am in God's hands" as he awaited Judge Clayton J. Crane's decision.
      Morgan was off-duty as a detective for the Burlington Northern Santa Fe railroad when he was pulled over for driving the wrong way on a one-way street on Feb. 21, 2005, the Sun-Times previously reported. While both police and Morgan agree on that much, what happened next is a mystery.
      According to police, Morgan opened fire with his service weapon when four white officers tried to arrest him, which caused them to shoot him 28 times. His family disputes the police officers' account of the altercation.
      Thursday, Morgan's wife Rosalind said, as reported by NBC Chicago, "My heart is very heavy, but I have to maintain my composure because I don't want them to think they got the best of us."
      Rosalind reiterated Thursday that she believes Chicago police are not telling the truth about her husband.

"He never fired his weapon. There was no gun residue on his hand, and he didn’t fire his weapon," Rosalind told CBS. "They shot him 21 times in the back parts of his body and seven times in the front, and left him there in a puddle of blood. He made it then, and God will allow him to make it again."
      Morgan was initially charged with the additional counts of aggravated battery and discharging a weapon at a police officer. Though he was previously acquitted of those charges, a jury found him guilty in January in a retrial on the previously deadlocked attempted murder charge, ABC Chicago reports.
      Morgan faced a sentence of up to 80 years in prison. A Change.org petition signed by nearly 10,000 people as of Thursday had called for all charges against Morgan to be dropped. Supporters who created the petition also contend that Morgan "was never tested for gun residue to confirm if he even fired a weapon on the morning in question."

If his name isn't Trayvon Martin we aren't interested...

Sarcasm noted.

heard about this years ago... what i cannot understand is how were the other cops injured if morgan didnt fire a shot... still, 28 shot to bring down one man, 21 of which in his back... something is wrong with that picture...

I am just hearing about the case. I heard that his hands were not tested for gun powder residue, the bullet-proof vests worn by the police were not shown (a replica) as evidence in court and Morgan's car was crushed and destroyed by the police department.