• Cops Question Pregnant Woman's Attacker

Cops Question Pregnant Woman's Attacker
    Published: Thursday April 5, 2012 | 3:04 pm45 Comments

Jody-ann Gray, a 28-year-old broadcaster and journalist- Contributed.
    The St. Catherine Police are now questioning a 44-year-old man of a Harbour View address in Kingston, following the attack on the life of his girlfriend, Jody-ann Gray, a 28-year-old broadcaster and journalist yesterday.

The person being interrogated is a fellow broadcaster of a Kingston based radio station.

The police said that Gray drove up to her home in Portmore, St. Catherine about 9.55 p.m., as she was about to alight her motor car, she was pounced upon by a man, who shot her once in the face and twice in the arm.

The man then jumped into a waiting Corolla motor car, which was being driven by the broadcaster and tried to escape in the area.

However, the police, who were on the scene within minutes of the shooting, intercepted the motor car which had three men aboard.

It is reported that a pair of registration plates made out of cardboard was found covering the original registration plates of the Corolla motor car.

When those plates were removed, it was discovered that the motor car was registered to the broadcaster and a woman who shared his last name, of a Harbour View address.

The police also seized a firearm suspected to be the weapon used in the shooting. The other men, both from Harbour View addresses will also be questioned by the police.

Meanwhile, commanding officer for the Division, Senior Superintendent Collin Pinnock is commending the police officers.

SSP Pinnock said a woman Corporal, after intercepting the car with the perpetrators, left two other constables on the scene and sped away with Gray to the hospital, while summoning back up for her colleagues.

According to SSP Pinnock, actions like these demonstrate a high level of professionalism in the men and women entrusted to protect and serve.

editorial@gleanerjm.com

SSP Pinnock said a woman Corporal, after intercepting the car with the perpetrators, left two other constables on the scene and sped away with Gray to the hospital, while summoning back up for her colleagues.

According to SSP Pinnock, actions like these demonstrate a high level of professionalism in the men and women entrusted to protect and serve.
    It's a real sad indictment on our police when normal police work, hardly heroic in my book, is singled out as something to be commended.

sigh

They should be commended for apprehending the suspects and credit is due.
      One ting, the media & police should not have identified the victim.

Yes, the apprehension is to be commended.

"When those plates were removed, it was discovered that the motor car was registered to the broadcaster and a woman who shared his last name, of a Harbour View address. "

From I heard he was involved I was curious if he was married. If he was married, did the wife know about the pregnant g/friend? If not, that could be the motive.

If he didn't want the child, why him never buy some condom? Oh well ... now he pays for a simple mistake.

More time a man a lyrics a girl and by the time him realize what a gwaan, she provide an opening, and if him don't come prepared with a condom, he is unlikely fi ask fi a pause to go get one. Hence pregnancy, STDs etc.

i think you are making more out of it than need be... i dont pinnock seh anything heroic took place... he said it was high level of professionalism, which it was... he could also be signalling what is expected of other officers...

her id was on twitter and the internet within a hour of the shooting... cant see how the shooting victim being identified affect antying... it is done all the time... and yes, they should be commended for apprehending the suspects... if we are going to beat up the police when they screw up, we should commend them when they do good deeds, whether or not it is expected of them...

bottom line, there is NEVER an excuse for what he did...

Me expect dat kinda behaviour from a 16 y.o. Big man who get caught inna dat trap a eeediot.

and need to be treated like an eediat and sent to JAIL to learn sense

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
                        More time a man a lyrics a girl and by the time him realize what a gwaan, she provide an opening, and if him don't come prepared with a condom, he is unlikely fi ask fi a pause to go get one. Hence pregnancy, STDs etc.
                        Sometimes man get ambushed but if you don't wise up and run then you hold what you get. Sometimes an outside pickney is not a bad idea.

i stand by what i said. to comment on the professionalism of officers as to how they handled it is ridiculous! par for the course for a police officer in other jurisdictions.

Originally posted by Time View Post
                            Sometimes man get ambushed but if you don't wise up and run then you hold what you get. Sometimes an outside pickney is not a bad idea.

Well the ting well tun up now Cause now wifey know that baby on the way and hubbie in deep ********** - every where him turn, macka is gonna be jucking him!