Finance Minster says country at a point of "do or die"

Same old rerun dis. Nothing new. New govt setting the bar as low as possible.

In a year I expect to hear that the economy is "poised" for growth even as nothing has changed.

Killing me softly with your WIKKID talk

And I have suggested that too!

But you well clever man! LoL

Sacrifice...
          This is how Finance and Planning Minister Dr. Peter Phillips describes the steps that will have to be taken to see the country on stable financial footing.
          Speaking on TVJ's Smile Jamaica program on Thursday April 5 Dr. Phillips said the country is at a point of do or die.
          According to the Finance Minister all will have to be done by his administration to lessen the load of the debt that Jamaica now carries.
          Dr. Phillips pointed out that the country was at a very critical juncture and that tough decisions would have to be made.
          He added that the government now has the challenge of creating an environment that is conducive to investment and production.
          However he says this will not be enough as creating conditions that are favourable so that citizens honour their obligations to pay taxes is also of great importance.
          Dr Phillips said in order to lower debt the country is at a point where it will have to make some difficult decisions.
          He also said there are no plans on the cards for layoffs in the public sector noting that steps will have to be taken to contain the government wage bill
          Same crap for most of the last 30 years. Lets get a referendum on the question of becoming a US Territory like Puerto Rico. If that work then most of the poor Jamaicans would run to Florida and New York.

Originally posted by Time View Post
            Same crap for most of the last 30 years. Lets get a referendum on the question of becoming a US Territory like Puerto Rico. If that work then most of the poor Jamaicans would run to Florida and New York.
            Yuh know what yuh really saying? Better yuh stick to T&F.

Better yuh seh Canada. Legal and financial systems are close to identical.

Ok Dr. Phillips, I hope you are learning fast because the Ship needs you.

This was the same thing the IMF wanted and nothing was else. Again we don't have much choice. I will see when the tax axe drop, how your Hero status a go stand up.

How many times must I say it? He can never lose his Hero status. He earned it because of what he did to save Jamaica from the likes of Dudus.

He may yet get another hero rating because of finance. I will let you know what that happens!

yeah you have fi keep mi updated.

This is very funny.

"Ole time something come back again..."

When I lived in Jamaica in the 70's...I recall Michael manley saying the same things: pull yur belt tighter...SACRIFICE..!!

What's new?