The boosters are paying for athletics not for science labs...can't really tell them how to spend their own money...if Calabar told them they are putting it towards science labs they wouldn't get the money...
More than J$8 Million to win Champs? Hmmm
Originally posted by MdmeX View PostStill can't fault him for putting the focus on academicsThe same type of thinking that created a problem cannot be used to solve the problem.
Bullsh!t!!!! Academics counts just as much at Bar. It just so happens that CBar, KC and JC have a stronger, bigger and more involved Old Boys Association than Wolmers and the other schools. Plus we have a bigger school population to draw on.Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
Well just look how much money these corporations have thrown into Sports - Grace Kennedy, Lime, Digicel et al. Percentage wise, how does the amount they contribute to academics compare to their sports contribution?“Life is a system of half-truths and lies, opportunistic, convenient evasion.”
Originally posted by Jangle View PostBullsh!t!!!! Academics counts just as much at Bar. It just so happens that CBar, KC and JC have a stronger, bigger and more involved Old Boys Association than Wolmers and the other schools. Plus we have a bigger school population to draw on.
Tradition is a hell of a thing. Daniel England was qouted as saying that T&F came first at Cbar in his days. I hope that is not true is 2012.The same type of thinking that created a problem cannot be used to solve the problem.
Context - T&F came first to Daniel England. In my graduating year, my class alone (of approx. 50-odd boys), had at least 10 -15 of us getting 8 or 9 Grade 1 passes in CXC. My very good friend got 10 1's. We had 85% of the class getting more than 5 Grade 1 passes. Back then, you needed at least 4 Grade 2 passes including Maths and English just to get a decent job. Those numbers represented just one class out of 10 (we had two shifts). I don't know what the numbers are today, but contrary to your misguided perception, academics is right up there in terms of priorities as is sports. We have had our Rhode Scholars and our other scholars. Out of my same crop of graduates, I can think of 5 guys off the top of my head who have gone on to greater academic achievements - 1 a professor at MIT, another a professor at a university in LA, another, who was not even in the top echelon of the class is now a principal at some "country" high school, throw in a couple doctors and a pilot an auditor............cho, the list too long.Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015