More than J$8 Million to win Champs? Hmmm

• More than J$8 Million to win Champs? Hmmm

I wonder what is the payout from ISSA for winning Champs?
    What is the state of the science labs at Calabar?
    I will have to ask Wolmaz how much they spend on Champs.
    J$ 8,000,000 is more than US$ 80,000. That is a lot of money.
    $8 million to win Champs - Calabar spend heavy to prepare championship team

Published: Wednesday | April 4, 20121 Comment

Calabar High School's principal, Major Lincoln Thaxter, addresses students inside the school's auditorium on Monday as the school celebrated its ISSA/GraceKennedy Boys and Girls' Athletics Championships and School's Challenge Quiz successes. - Rudolph Brown/Photographer

André Lowe, Senior Staff ReporterIt cost over $8 million to return the Mortimer Geddes Trophy to Red Hills Road, where Calabar High School continues to celebrate its 22nd lien on the Inter-Secondary Schools Sports Association (ISSA)/GraceKennedy Boys and Girls' Athletics Championships.
    Team manager, Andrea Hardware, who has now seen three Calabar victories during her tenure, gave The Gleaner some insight into the expenses incurred throughout the campaign, including training, medical and transportation costs.
    "We put a budget together this year and it was close to $8 million, not including coaches' salaries and that sort of thing," said Hardware, who underlined what she described as a solid support network as the major financial muscle behind the programme.
    "We have some very committed supporters and they are the ones that push the programme. The school does make a contribution, but we have a lot of well-wishers, both corporate and individuals, who support us a lot financially.
    "It takes significant resources, money and time because we are all volunteers. You have to love it - long nights at meetings, when a boy's nose is running, they come to you, when they are having trouble with their SBAs, they come to you. So it's difficult on many levels," Hardware added, highlighting the challenges of managing a team at this level.
    "I didn't realise this day would finally come in the way it has. The win was tremendous, we had our nervous moments but it's just amazing. What we were able to accomplish in the 100th year of the school is even more significant," she added.
    Worth a whole lot
    For principal, Major Lincoln Thaxter, the investment is worth a whole lot more than a national title or school glory, but is also a definite contribution towards human development.
    "It (the investment) is worth it, not only for the school's glory, but for the personal development of the boys, and the fact is that they can use it as a sort of stepping stone for their future careers," said Thaxter.
    "We have to big up the coach and a very silent and very committed old boy by the name of Dr Donald Philliber, who has been financing the Calabar track team and the coaches for both athletics and football. And I want to pay special tribute to him for his commitment over the years, whether we are up or down," said David Fitz-Henley, a former head boy and teacher at Calabar.
    Calabar withstood a late burst from rivals Kingston College to lift the title after tallying 287.5 points to KC's 265.

I hear is more like $10m spent.

StGC spent onlyn $600K, so you see the difference that almost $9m brings, ie 268.5 points!

I hear is more like $10m spent.
      nu wonda dem cudden find money fi likkle rat bait...ar even couple puss

LoL

U smell a rat?

not including coaches' salaries and that sort of thing
          It would be interesting to know what the actual figure for the whole T&F season is, including Penn Relays and "that sort of thing".Not just C'Bar but for say the top 5 schools for both Girls and Boys.

These teams are mostly privately funded still so any issues with priorities lie with all of us. Champs is a world-class event, world-class events require a lot of time and money.

it takes a lot of money and prep. from training, diet, travelling to development meets and other cost to run such a program. Now we see some of the real reason why some kids have to transfer.

It is ironic that when Mr. Thaxter became the principal of Titchfield sports practially died under his rule but he has done well and supported it at CBar.

Mussi bout $50m dat

Gi wi dat an wi revolutionize science education inna jiffy.... afta wi done leverage dat into anedda $10B inna grants fram local an foreign... juss using the power ah di Big Idea

But peeple suh bamboozled by di Sports Matrix dem brain scramble ... dem ah Stand Firm pon di Blue Pill....memba mi tole yuh

yuh nuh hear seh sport cost money... it tek money fi compete inna big league... alumni need fi put up de money if dem want dem school name fi call...

It is ironic that when Mr. Thaxter became the principal of Titchfield sports practially died under his rule but he has done well and supported it at CBar.

LoL Sass - him was alledgedly busy playing the piano that was donated

DSJ ah fuh flip dat script.. Sports driving technology to drive Cha-Ching (monetizing di ting, mek di cane cuttah dem drive JEEP)

memba mi tole yuh !

We try to do a little thing but at one point he was upset that the students not paying enough attention to their work.Good teacher and good man still but unlike Mr.Chin before him who was really into sport at the time, his real interest was to get back to the academic glory at the time.

LOL!!!

DSJ ah fuh flip dat script.. Sports driving technology to drive Cha-Ching (monetizing di ting, mek di cane cuttah dem drive JEEP)

memba mi tole yuh !

Mi si yuh pawdie... wi waan si wat ah clack ah strike wid dat wen di chain release

Fi wi moggle is fi recognize seh since peeple love di Circus ting wi aggo gi dem dat...wid all pompom ah fly an chune ah buss...even while di pickney dem ah get sharp wid programming an engineering skills

The Perfect Storm

We try to do a little thing but at one point he was upset that the students not paying enough attention to their work.Good teacher and good man still but unlike Mr.Chin before him who was really into sport at the time, his real interest was to get back to the academic glory at the time.
                            Still can't fault him for putting the focus on academics

True but we have to can do both. Maybe it is community that has a part of that role but no reason why a school like Titchfield can't achieve both. Especially in todays world when if a good athlete and scholar, scholarship abound.