Lotto Group plan, what group plan?

• Lotto Group plan, what group plan?

Oh I bought another ticket separately, sorry! .

-----------------------------------------------------------------------
    Monday, April 02, 2012

WESTPORT, USA (CMC) - A Haitian-born national, who won part of the biggest lotto in United States history over the weekend, says she has no intention of sharing her multi-million dollar prize with her co-workers, who claimed that they all pooled funds to buy tickets.

Mirlande Wilson 37, one of three winners of the US$656 million jackpot, is expected to receive US$105 millions.

But she told the New York post newspaper that contrary to reports by her co-workers at a fast food restaurant, she bought the winning ticket separate and apart from those bought by the group.

“We had a group plan, but I went and played by myself. It (the winning ticket] wasn’t on the group plan,” Wilson told the New York Post.

“I was in the group, but this was separate. The winning ticket was a separate ticket,” added the single mother of seven.

Wilson refused to show what she said was the winning ticket, claiming she had it hidden in another location and would present it to lottery officials on Monday.

With winning tickets also sold in Illinois and Kansas, a single Maryland winner would get an after-tax lump sum of US$105 million, or US$5.59 million a year for 26 years.

If Wilson actually won, and if it was with a pooled work ticket, the situation would be shockingly similar to that of a New Jersey man, Americo Lopes, who tried to prevent five former colleagues after hitting a US$24 million jackpot before a jury ordered him to spread the wealth.

Wilson’s co-workers, who make little more than US$7.50 an hour, say they are angry over the situation.

“She can’t do this to us,” said Suleiman Osman Husein, a shift manager and one of 15 members in the pool. “We each paid five dollars”.

The workers said Wilson bought tickets for the group at a store where the winning ticket was sold.

" a single mother of seven"....you wrong her? DWL

with 15 peeps in the pool it would come out US$7 million each.
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Gangsta...but mi nuh wrong har still...house in Petionville wi seh

After tax about 3 million dollars. 15 pickney, sister, brother auntie cousin and all the friends to feed, she might be broke in 3 years time.

When we use to buy group ticket, everybody get a photo copy of all the the tickets to prove that it is a group thing.

That's how we do it too.

But I hope she is telling the truth and not trying to cheat; for easy come easy go...

I don't believe her.
                Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

she can afford to lie...

I suspect she is NOT one of those Lotto winners that will be going to work as usual...

Then again she can just buy di company and fiyah who she need tuh..

no she can't. If she cannot prove that she bought that ticket independently, then that money will be tied up in court.

The burden of proof is on who ???

lol !

There was a similar case in Jersey where the judge decided that the money should be shared. I don't think they had written proof either but the circumstantial evidence may have been strong. They had been buying as a group for a long time.

I don't believe her either but they are really stupid to get themselves in this position.

I don't believe her.
                            I was apart of a pool can my place of employment and I also purchased some tickets on my own. Its easy to prove if she was conning her former coworkers.

How do you easlily prove it if she is not willing to go along with it?

Its not like it is a criminal case where you can demand video cameras and all that.