• Herbs to treat diabetes?!?!

Basil

Basil, while often associated with Italian food, actually comes from India, where it's traditionally used to treat asthma, stress, and diabetes.

Like thyme, basil has strong antimicrobial and antiviral properties, even against nasty bugs like Listeria and E. coli. Basil is a natural COX inhibitor, which means it's especially great for anyone with arthritis or other inflammatory health problems. Basil is also a great source of beta-carotene, which turns into vitamin A, as well as magnesium, iron, and calcium.

How much: Aim for a tablespoon of fresh basil or quarter to half a teaspoon of dried basil three times a week.

Serving suggestion: Basil epitomizes summer foods, such as cold tomato or pasta salads. But don't stop there. Add it to pizza, pasta, or anything with tomatoes any time of year.

Tip: Having trouble finding good basil when it's not summer? Check your freezer section. Several companies freeze fresh basil in single-serving pop-out containers -- and since its frozen while fresh, it retains most of its nutrients. You can also freeze herbs yourself when they're in season -- just lay them flat on a baking sheet and then transfer them to a plastic bag or Tupperware container when they're frozen.

Thanks Mo.

You can drink some apple cider vinegar too!

You cannot treat diabetes without insulin... basil maybe able to lower blood sugar in those with pre-diabetes...but continue in your ignorance...note to self do not send my children to Munro

To do what have the pancreas produce insulin? Ahh bwoy what a ting...

well it certainly never work for Imani Duncan...

You cannot treat diabetes without insulin... basil maybe able to lower blood sugar in those with pre-diabetes...but continue in your ignorance...note to self do not send my children to Munro
            (on behalf of Mo)

One fool makes many...