Bob Without Blackwell

Boy your inability to think logically is truly amazing.

What are the chances that the Jackson 5 have made it without a Motown/Berry Gordy in the 60/70s? Does that mean MJ was not a special talent?

But hold on, Berry Gordy did not produce 50 Michael Jacksons, so based on your theory I guess that means the Jackson 5 would have been big anyway.

Nobody said Bobs success was solely on Blackwell. What is being debated is without Blackwell at the time they came on the scene is it likely that the the Wailers would have made it big.

You claim to be a student of maths, you ever heard bout NECESSARY vs SUFFICIENT conditions for something to happen?

There could well be a dozen potential Usain Bolts in the other Caribbean islands that we will never hear about, not because of their talent.

SUCCESS = TALENT + OPPORTUNITY

You need BOTH, even more so in the entertainment industry where there is no shortage of wannabes. Learn dat.
    LOL... mi did ah wait pon structured logic lika dat fi appear pon dis subjek. Mi too bogged dung wid di people's wuk fi deal wid it proppa miself

Logic and critical thought are the exception rather than the norm here... but that's normal for a Rum Bar isn't it?

i was trying to be diplomatic. LOL

You speak of math but whenever there is a theorem; it always stand up to the rigors of logic. I have never heard of a theorem called necessary vs sufficient but I'm the eternal learner an is more than willing to learn. Math does not deal with generalities (concrete poofs are needed in this realm).

That said let's look at your argument on Gordy.Diana ross and the supremes? (they are not males but same in achievement at he time)

You seem t miss my point and at the same time trying to devise a formula for success (saying Blackwell has it) If Blackwe had his method why didn't he take another talent to the INt'L stage?

On Bolt: There are 20 million African americans in the US are you saying that the US cannot give the opportunity to black talented males here (the US does compete in athletics, yes?) Your success= Talent + Opportunity fails here.

This is SPARTA!

And I said it was a theorem where exactly? It is a concept in logic boss, and used extensively in algebra. But surely you know this? Then again maybe this is too practical an application for your interest.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Necessa...ient_condition

Me too hard-ears, shoulda tek Gamma advice long ago. Gwan do you ting Socrates. I give up.

but yuh should yeild before mi kick yuh inna di ditch. Cho an to see dat mi rate yuh.

Anyway the P implies q is a if then statement which can be reduced to o and 1 but I still can't fit your argument in there.

Thanks for the wiki thing;In my time it was always boolean or P implies q but hey I'm the eternal .....?

Blackwell was the waiter that opened the bottle of champagne and realized it was that and thus served it up to the world. The truth is marley was looking for the break and as early as 1968 was meeting with Johnny Nash songwriter and doing a ton of demos in new York, it is clear that others recognized his unusual potential and j Nash took him on tour in 1972. How many other jamaican singers made those strides up to that point and even signed a contrat with CBS records in 1972, so clearly in the music business some saw that talent already. Maybe it is the other way around that without marley maybe he would never have made it to the rock and roll hall of fame, never found U2 and fade into obscurity like many do, however he found a gem that without prompting or pressure was ready and waiting to deliver catch a fire, as he had already gone through the madness of Nash and cbs and was poised and ready to deliver for whoever was willing to give him another shot.

By the way; it wasn't Blackwell that found Marley, it was the other way around. He knew what he wanted and went out and made it happen. Marley clearly saw Blackwell as an opportunity to do what he wanted to do, thus Marley was clearly determined to make his own path one way or another. After being abandoned by Nash i bet most would have just said mek me guh yah! Cho, cyan bodda with dis.

That is a very good point, re the Johnny Nash experience. His songwriting clearly had achieved some international success.

What is less clear is whether another label would have been willing to market him , the artiste, as a Rasta Revolutionary , that is what I give Blackwell a lot of credit for.

Dammm good point that reggae had an international singing and producing face before Bob and Blackwell ,it charted in the USA under Nash.My point stands,if it wasn't Bob it would have been someone else or Blackwell then someone else....don't forget Paul Simon.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Blackwell did already buss Milli Small, my boy Lollipop from 1964.

Is not just Bob and U2, B-well buss. He bussed, Cranberries, Stever Windwood, and other names you heard of.

Yuh heard about who Bob prawn Nash's guitar and leff di scene?

Yuh read "So much Things to say" by Bob Manager Don Taylor?
                      Chris hired him to "manage" Bob wo had a rep for being hard to deal with.Bob needed much guidance and prompting.