Sass ....stay focused

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

at what volume? Reggae has done well throughout the world but Island records has done a major job in getting it to the forefront. That can't be denied X.

Not with reports that are not from any formal source. If Foxy sold 100000 copies in any country that would be considered good.

Again no one is denying Bob & Blackwells contribution to promoting reggae,the question is given our history of progression as a musical nation , Bellafonte 50s ,Ska hits in the 60s in england, Ska in central & latin america in the 60s, would Jamaican music be as internationally known without Bob & Blackwell?......djs music has a latin spin off called reggaeton..did BOB & BLACKWELL DO THIS ?....thats SHABBA influence !

I believe yes , many a song has been credited to BOB because he was the face of reggae, I have heard people(forgeiners) say Bob Marley sang a D. Brown & John Holt tune and many a time they have to be corrected.

Is it because of Bob being the face of reggae or is it the musical migration? I think the latter, because it was migrating way before him & blackwell.

ITS NOT ABOUT VOLUME ! but musical migration, can you count volume in third world countries when everything is copied on a tape/cd ? and thats where BOB had his greatest influence.
          Last edited by Sir X; April 3, 2012, 08:24 PM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Him marketing acumen I would never question, but with such immense talent coupled with his financial and distributive power he was at a great advantage, which jamaican producers could never match. Therefore, in my opinion he had an unfair advantage which he is being lauded for.

Take nothing away from him for that my youth, give him credit, but lets face it our music on the international stage started without Bob & Blackwell, reached a certain height with them and contniues without them.

On the international stage and local producers as it was in the begining continue to push it globally , waiting for the right Bob & Blackwell to buss it again.

Stay focused ...yuh juss sell yuh arguement out , any bady who live inna di try state known dis...bout formal sources...kiss teeeth.

the reggae loving foriegner mi meet have bigger collection and more D Brown and Bob than the average Jamaican. More Jamaicans I know will mix up these singers.

I would never take discredit the producer, but to say Bob would not amount to anything with Jamaican producers at that particular time in our music is null and void, since two variables were required finances and industry connection in the world domain for which they had none.

Prove your point. Foxy Brown sond didn't come close to Tracy Chapman song. THe tri-state is a small part of "record buying america".

Tell me which Chart Foxy Brown made again??? You are either misinformed or making it up.

are they equal to Bob on the Int'l market? My point is simply this; if Bob's success depended solely on Chris Blackwell, then why hasn't Blackwell produced another star equal to Bob?

that wasn't the point of the discussion (about who made more money) see my response to Iman.

I take issue with that too.Beres seems to be doing alright with local labels.

Boy your inability to think logically is truly amazing.

What are the chances that the Jackson 5 have made it without a Motown/Berry Gordy in the 60/70s? Does that mean MJ was not a special talent?

But hold on, Berry Gordy did not produce 50 Michael Jacksons, so based on your theory I guess that means the Jackson 5 would have been big anyway.

Nobody said Bobs success was solely on Blackwell. What is being debated is without Blackwell at the time they came on the scene is it likely that the the Wailers would have made it big.

You claim to be a student of maths, you ever heard bout NECESSARY vs SUFFICIENT conditions for something to happen?

There could well be a dozen potential Usain Bolts in the other Caribbean islands that we will never hear about, not because of their talent.

SUCCESS = TALENT + OPPORTUNITY

You need BOTH, even more so in the entertainment industry where there is no shortage of wannabes. Learn dat.
                              Last edited by Islandman; April 4, 2012, 08:19 AM.

Not "could be" wrong, that is total and complete nonsense.