Yep

Rasatafari Is on the captured live album is a masterclass
    That is correct, Gamma!

This performance of Rastafari Is is exactly as you suggest, which is why I included the YouTube video link of this live performance (I believe this might have been a Canadian tour).

Hindsight is twenty, twenty . I can't sit here and say without Blackwell Bob would have never been what he was. If this was the case then Blackwell would have produced many other supper stars in reggae (the same way producers, come out with rap stars).

Yes Blackwell contributed but to hinge everything on him no.

Originally posted by Historian View Post
        That is correct, Gamma!

This performance of Rastafari Is is exactly as you suggest, which is why I included the YouTube video link of this live performance (I believe this might have been a Canadian tour).
        Some time back when we were listing best reggae instrumental solos Rastafari Is topped my list. Ernest Ranglin's solo on 'it hurts to be alone' is also right there.
        I once saw an interview with Donald Kinsey where he said the inspiration for that solo came from the Jamaican/Rastafari vibe moreso than his North american roots. In his opinion he just marrtied the two.
        If you want to start an argument try this: who was better: Wailers or Word, sound & Power.

Jawge who made more money out of Reggae than Chris Blackwell? Starting with My Boy Lollipop? Remember Chris Blackwell also signed and groomed a no name irish band name U2 and a little Breda you may hear about name Bono.

The fact is bob was the right artist at the right time and Chris was businessman who knew where to invest and how to sell a product. The rest is history. Both were genius at what they do.

Me was going to answer him but couldn't bother. Jawge just talk and type whatever come to him head.

Blackwell had an eye for talent, no question about that. Jimmy Cliff, Third World, Black Uhuru were all on the Island label at some point.

Haffi disagree, you kyaan discredit di immense talent like dat, ah seem fi gi a producer all di credit. Yuh saying is BlackWell was di genius when it was di odah way roun. Blackwell was a very good recognizer ah talent

You Missed My Point

Originally posted by myYout View Post
                Haffi disagree, you kyaan discredit di immense talent like dat, ah seem fi gi a producer all di credit. Yuh saying is BlackWell was di genius when it was di odah way roun. Blackwell was a very good recognizer ah talent
                MyYout, with all respect, you’ve missed the point by a mile!

I am by no means questioning Bob’s genius. It is obvious that the man was in a class by himself, even on the world stage.

My point is that a certain production quality and a certain marketing muscle (as in super-powerhouse muscle) is needed to take a genius from a little “rock” like Jamaica to the length and breadth of the globe. Bob and the hardworking producers in Kingston could NOT have done this by themselves.

To argue otherwise is to misunderstand the business of music and the workings of the music industry.

Kingston was doing it by itself without Blackwell ! again ska hits were entering the British charts so were rocksteady and reggae without the island label and it continues to do so,internationally ...foxy brown remake of Tracy Chapman sorry out sold the original ,it was confessed by disc jockeys to be the number 1 song in America before it actually reached there without an island label.The point is our music and musicians were international before bob and blackwwell ,ska had entered Latin America and Europe in the 60s and way before that harry belafonte planted Jamaica folksongs in America,Baron lee had a ska hit in the us in the 60s ,anecdotes and facts that support my view that our music was and is bigger than any individual and i won't say credit should not be given to them for there contribution but lets face it.....if it was not them. it would have been some one else.

Keep in mind the disparaging things Blackwell said about reggae after Bobs death,my opinion its bigger than any one man .....it lives in all genres in all parts of the world....Jamaican music not just reggae,to single it out is ridiculous,it is a part of the continuation of our musical expression .....bigger than any individual.
                  Last edited by Sir X; April 3, 2012, 07:22 PM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

"foxy brown remake of Tracy Chapman sorry put sold the original ,it was confessed by disc jockeys to be the number 2 song in America before it actually reached there."

X where you get this from? Please share the source.

i could be wrong but it was the number one song in the tri state without an island label....wrong about her name too.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

number one on the Reggae Charts in the Tri-state? I doubt that song even made the billbord charts and sold anything close to Tracy Champ Sorry which peaked at number 48 on the Billbord Chart.

Becareful about those numbers X.

you are wrong.

how am I wrong???? Show me. You came out with numbers you can't defend. Did Foxy Brown make the Billboard charts????

It was a hot seller in Reggae circles but not anywhere else. Tracy first album was a huge seller.

that said many reggae artist with kingston based producers. have continued on the vein of coxsone to chart Jamaican hits. all over the world.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Baby_Can_I_Hold_You