The bad pronunciation continues

• The bad pronunciation continues

Watching Boys & Girls Champs and I wonder if it would be too embarrassing to give a few of our commentators/analysts/experts a course in pronunciation.

Schools do not provide excuzes, but rather they provide excuses.

And the high jumper is not tall and lanky in statue, unless he actually has a statue done in his honour. Rather, he is tall and lanky in stature.

Better she...the person did say, him tall and lanky in him structure.

Thankfully, the main presenters are not the guilty ones.

But mo, eff we can say reaZon for reason why not excuZe for excuse when it is a noun... is that a reaZonable excuSe ? LOL

The statue one is baffling... presenter just doesn't know the word...

Lol

Watching Boys & Girls Champs and I wonder if it would be too embarrassing to give a few of our commentators/analysts/experts a course in pronunciation.
      Don’t let Professor Carolyn Cooper hear you criticizing “Jamaican chat,” boss! You might just become the centerpiece of her next newspaper column (lol).

I could make you a laundry list of the curious use of words on “the Rock”! Just about a day or two ago I found myself pointing out to an acquaintance, during a discussion of clothing, that it’s not “tall sleeve shirt”; it’s “long sleeve shirt” (lol).

By the way, Hubert, while providing excellent commentary, tends to interrupt Juliet a bit too often. Just my two cents.

Originally posted by Historian View Post
        By the way, Hubert, while providing excellent commentary, tends to interrupt Juliet a bit too often. Just my two cents.
        Well, Juliet is the one trampling on the language, so I don't mind Hubert interrupting! He's probably embarrassed.

Shouldn't we be broadcasting in patois?

I would not have a problem with that.

mo, you are so right... juliet was not good... neither was the other guy jermaine... hubert is world class... he not only is knowledgeable but an excellent commentator... if juliet wants to continue in this position, she needs to work at it... repeating what hubert says is not adding anything to the broadcast, except her voice... she and jermaine engaged in this childish word play and up-manship that was just silly... they should get rid of juliet and jermaine and get others who are more skilled with analysis and elocution... the guy who was interviewing the athletes also needs training in public speaking... he tends to talk too fast and says too much before the question is asked... in that environment, just keep it simple...

Good Points

Originally posted by Baddaz View Post
                hubert is world class... he not only is knowledgeable but an excellent commentator... the guy who was interviewing the athletes also needs training in public speaking... he tends to talk too fast and says too much before the question is asked... in that environment, just keep it simple...
                Good points throughout, Baddaz. I completely agree with you, and in particular with the sections I have quoted above.

You people getting profound now...

You ever watch the News ??

Mi know.. we are not export oriented..

"Give us vision lest we perish.."

You assume I meant "entirely"?

Juliet's position as a successful Olympian is invaluable, but she just needs some brushing up. She can stay. Jermaine wasn't that bad either for me.

I heard Juliet trying to explain the the "timed final" events and she completely messed it up. I wonder if these commentators realise that you should not put each other on the spot, necessarily. It is okay to have Juliet come up with a proper response to that question before you ask on the air.

Jermaine had said that all finals are timed, so why call these "timed finals". Juliet was stumped and went on to explain some stuff that was not really relevant.

The key is, why the other finals are not called "timed finals" is, you don't really need a clock to determine the positions. In the timed finals, it is strictly the times that will determine the positions, really. At least, that is my take on it.

Not yet, because it is being broadcast internationally.

Well then the rest of the world will just have to learn patois...wha dem feel like?

LOL! We soon have the Champs multi-language simulcast up and running. You nuh rate we?