I rememebr back in the day, every Chinese shop had a patty-pan....first with coals then later on with heating element to keep warm....the were the ones making patties BEFORE bruce, tastee and then Jucci...although Jucci have sm Chinese heritage....
A suh we large? (Part 2)
Exile I have school brethren who is one of the largest patty supplier there in Trinidad. He was in the states and left to live in T&T. He told me business good, the last time I talked to him.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
True
Originally posted by Exile View PostTrue...certainly from a marketing perspective...maybe tourism too...my point was that sometimes we tend to wait till we hear it from the foreigners before we accept it...like our music, like our fashion, like our scholars..etc etc...
No worry yourself grab a patty and then some bush tea later.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Think I know him...although Tastee seems to hv the distribution system...sold at a local 'coffee house' with 57 outlets - go figure. I know a Jamaican who makes decent patties and has a store/shop/restaurant in St James, POS....cool brethren..
Too much fat...I knew a Jamaican in Gainesville who I thought made some of the best patties I ever had...lean meat, good crusts...still has his shop...looking same way as it did 20 yrs ago...had a youth was a skilfull footballer...shld be making the US team by now if he continued...or RBz.
yeah man must be the same one. Real cool brethren. Brethren from back inna school days, him was als a 80s Dcup balla.
Yeah him told me he was up against the big hitters from Ja who was fighting for the market at the time.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
I will give you a summary when I have completed it . In the meantime click this and read how he starts off; he asks a series of questions just like the one you posed about Smithville. I myself am just into the early chapters:
http://www.amazon.com/gp/reader/0553...qid=1333169636Peter R
no problem, I just cannot remember the source of the link with "pasty". I am guessing that you heard the word pate, (correctly spelled pâté) in Viet Nam which was a French colony... "pâté" in English means "paste" and the most popular or commonly know pâté is "pâté de foie gras" ...sound sexy enough in French but just means "paste of fat liver". Anyway, I feel you know all this but refuse to think one of our "national" dishes is linked to England. That dish is quite unlike the English pasty which is meat filled pastry very similar to the JA patty. Look at the picture in this article and a casual glance might make you think those are patties in the shop window http://www.guardian.co.uk/business/2...?newsfeed=true
Even more compelling evidence of the similarities of patty and pasty is to take a look at the recipes of both... pâté is way off from both... the good thing is that a good "jamaican" patty taste better than either... ( I have never has a pasty of any kind but looking at a couple recipes I don't see the spices needed to nice it up.)
The next thing I am reading is that "lard" is not actually not as bad for you as has been made out and is better than "shortening" which people have preferred over lard in the pastry.Peter R
hmm.. very interesting..
I know someone who is doing some research as it pertains to Jamaica and these pockets of Brilliance.
How do you engineer a launchpad out of a one room school house on the side of a hill in 'woi-woi' and fire a whole generation of people into the "World Who's Who' annals.
This has to be investigated to see if it can be replicated.. before the living memory of the people involved is gone forever.
I don't know how much research you can do. The fact is you need a strong principal who loves his job, kids and his community. You need a community who want well for their children and willing to work with the school. You need a few professional who the kids can look up to. You need a few good teachers.
Peter R know this. So many kids I know never seen a computer until 18 years old, never seen a physics or a chem lab until they were 12 year old, etc. yet still they had a good basic foundation to launch them to be programmers, analysts, doctors, Lawyers etc. A good building and equipment inside is good but the staff and community plays a bigger role.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
no other patty like tastee patty... it is the standard... many like juici & mothers try but dem still nuh mek it like tastee... tastee have just the right amoutn of meat and the dough is special... nothing like eating a tastee patty and then get the flakes in the bag... simple pleasures...'to get what we've never had, we MUST do what we've never done'