• A suh we large? (Part 2)

The Daily Gleaner: http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...business2.html

Jamaican patty gets 'world ratings'

Published: Thursday | March 29, 2012

JAMAICA's delectable and mouth-watering patty, once a lunch-time staple and now an anytime-of-the-day meal on the go across all socio-economic groups, has had its international rating bumped up on one of the world's most popular websites, askmen.com.
    The patty, traditionally a beef pie in a tender and flaky crust, was rated third among the 'World's Most Delicious Street Foods' by Simon Majumdar, askmen.com's dining and drinks correspondent.

An author, food writer and broadcaster, Majumdar has written two best-selling food memoirs, Eat My Globe and Eating For Britain, and contributes to a wide range of newspapers and websites. He is one of the three recurring judges on The Food Network's hit show 'The Next Iron Chef'.

Way to go
    Commenting on the Jamaican patty, Majumdar wrote in 'Best Portable Food' on askmen.com: "Visit the stunning island of Jamaica, and you will rapidly find, as I did, that people fall into one of two rival camps when it comes to sourcing their favourite portable treat. Everyone is in full agreement that the spicy beef patty is the way to go, but people are capable of arguing all day about where you should buy them."

He added: "I met fierce proponents of the patties sold at both the Juici Patties chain of fast-food outlets and those offered by its competitor, Tastee. I tried both, and all I can tell you is that I would happily offer up a limb or two for either one to be delivered to my door as I write this."
    The Jamaican patty was rated third behind India's Kolkata kati roll, "a hot and flaky paratha wrapped around a filling of egg, sharp raw onion, fresh green chili and tandoori meats or fish".

Second on Majumdar's list was the United Kingdom's Cornish pasty, which he describes as an "empanada-like snack stuffed with lamb, onions, potatoes and rutabaga".

The Jamaican patty has over the years evolved to offer varieties such as chicken, soy, lobster, and cheese with beef - a 'cheese patty'.

Don't know if we need that endorsement...we ALL know the great attributes of our patty...lifesaver, filler, meal, ice-breaker, lunch, dinner, breakfast...lol

mi never give anybody a patty and them ever tell me them nuh like it. Them must either nuh like beef, it too hot but them never said them nuh like it. I am talking about a well made patty here.

That is what happen when wi allowed to tun wi hand mek fashion...

Out of Many, One People..

Someone should do a study on the disproportionate genius that has come out of Smithville, Clarendon....

How one likkle village can produce suh many luminaries suh ?

No sah !
        Last edited by Muadib; March 29, 2012, 10:12 AM.

Don't make me puke with that motto!

Is what position T&T roti did get? Or is doubles a fi dem ting?

take the motto and make it your own..

It coulda mean outta many african tribe.. one people...

from marning now a ebbling it worsahrah

I see your point, but....

Originally posted by Exile View Post
                Don't know if we need that endorsement...we ALL know the great attributes of our patty
                Exile, I’m not sure I would agree that “we don’t need that endorsement,” boss. Of course, we Jamaicans as well as many others across the Caribbean and in limited parts of North America and England “all know the attributes of our patty,” but does the wider world know?

I imagine that in terms of the constant whining in some quarters (although not on this forum) about the failure to sell “Brand Jamaica,” this exposure in potential non-traditional markets of a “Brand Jamaica” product would be welcomed?

you know the market that Royal Caribbean has? About 4 years ago I was told they won the contract to supply the military with patties. They also have Walmart and a few big suppermarket with their frozen patty line.

True...certainly from a marketing perspective...maybe tourism too...my point was that sometimes we tend to wait till we hear it from the foreigners before we accept it...like our music, like our fashion, like our scholars..etc etc...
                    I remember the first 12-tribe dance I ever went on Hope Rd HQ...and the sheer numbers and beauty of the garments were so stunning...and the colours..but mainstream Jamaica wouldn't touch "the rasta colours" until we got sm outside appeal.....now everbody a 'represent'.
                    some years ago my daughter took sm friends to Ja for Springbreak...'low cost' trip she said....I asked what they did for food...she sadi they had patties evry single day...lunch and dinner...and she was serious....

But what about it's nutritional value? Sorry to be a wet blanket here, but are patties good for you?

That is what happen when wi allowed to tun wi hand mek fashion...

Someone should do a study on the disproportionate genius that has come out of Smithville, Clarendon....

How one likkle village can produce suh many luminaries suh ?

No sah !
                        Read a book called "The Talent Code" author Daniel Coyle... it might answer your question.

I don't see why not? the filling would be what you put in... who knows what the commercial brands put but if you use lean beef or lean chicken all the other ingredients look fairly benign to me... onion , scotch bonnet, curry powder (maybe), egg (according to taste but about one egg for a batch of 12), etc...

The pastry will have shortening and margarine, those two can be a concern... but it's not much different in that respect from any kind of pastry that we consume. If you make your own you could use "healthier" substitutes.

On another note, the origin of the word and dish "patty" is the Jamaicanisation of the English word and dish "pasty", the same pasty that was rated second in the article. At least that's what I was made to understand.

I don't see why not? the filling would be what you put in... who knows what the commercial brands put but if you use lean beef or lean chicken all the other ingredients look fairly benign to me... onion , scotch bonnet, curry powder (maybe), egg (according to taste but about one egg for a batch of 12), etc...

The pastry will have shortening and margarine, those two can be a concern... but it's not much different in that respect from any kind of pastry that we consume. If you make your own you could use "healthier" substitutes.

On another note, the origin of the word and dish "patty" is the Jamaicanisation of the English word and dish "pasty", the same pasty that was rated second in the article. At least that's what I was made to understand.
                            I was told by one Captain Barnes that the crust is made from lard. To make the quantities that we do make, they found the most economical and plentiful "spread" they could find. I asked a manager at one of our patty shops the other day and he declined to answer. What's the secret? Why the secret?

Are you sure about the origin of the word, Peter? On one of my trips through the Orient the other day I came across a similar product that apparently was called paté. Of course, a pâté |päˈtā|is a rich, savory paste made from finely minced or mashed ingredients, typically seasoned meat or fish. So, what really is the answer. I am not going along with your theory!

gimme a summary nuh.. mi nuh too innah di long reading sittn..