Zimmermans story....
what was it created from ?
I repeat.. if we were growing at 2% consistently from 1972 we would not be yapping about this topic today..
If you stopped yapping and THINK about the economics associated with the Garrison construct as it obtains in Jamaica then you would maybe have a clue...
Rath..
nutting to defend.. you either have the mental capacity to see the obvious or you don't..
POVERTY in urban settings is the engine that drives our Garrisons problem.. Dons cannot exist without poverty.. the replace the function of the State that is unable to perform social functions.. due to.. yes you guessed it lack of MONEY..
Now stop yapping and calculate what our GDP would be today if we grew at 2% per year since 1972.. also try and imagine what Downtown and the environs would look like today..
Is like unnuh program to rassss..
OK now I understand. It is the lack of 2 % growth post 1972 that spawned the development and continuation of Garrisons. However, as you have stated here many times the growth rate from 1962-1972 under the JLPs tenure was much larger than 2%. Given your assertion why did the JLP create the mother of all garrison during this period of exceptional economic growth?
You are boring me now with repetitive and redundant anecdotal quips.. when you de-program let me know.
The growth during the 60's could never produce the GDP and jobs required to support our urban areas.. that problem would require strategic investment (accompanying growth and economic stability) for at least another 15 years..
25% reduction in GDP and capital flight is NOT the way to go.. you might think a stagnant Downtown and Waterfront for multiple decades is the way to go but.. trust me... it is not...
Open your mind.. you will be amazed at what edification might occur...
Originally posted by Muadib View Postwhat created and sustained the environment ?
Yuh tink if we were growing at 2% per years since 1972 wi would be here yapping about who have how many garrisons ?
yuh have time.. Garrisons of the type that prevail here are not created in a vacuum.. it requires stagnant economic environment that perpetuates poverty, unemployment and crime..
Mosiah people not only experts on stagnancy dem retrograde di ting... him only si di symptoms not the disease..
It takes cash to care.
As a follower of the Silicon Valley School of Economics (lol) you should be familiar with the Rule of 72. At 2% growth per year (compounded obviously) it would take 36 years to double the GDP number... Not sure if you believe that to be a a good outcome?
That technical correction aside... what Jamaica doesn't realize is that our bad economics is a SYMPTOM... the root cause of the bad economics is horrible POLITICAL, SOCIAL & CLASS RELATIONS.... that is what must be fixed to move forward. Trying to fix economics without addressing those social factors will amount to little. Critical thought on the matter makes that crystal clear to me.
Only Haiti in the Caribbean has worse social relations than Jamaica.... and it shows in their outcomes. Barbados on the other hand has positive social relations...leading to positive economic results. That's the way development works.
In other words your orthodox capitalist construct will not werk...The Jamaican superstructure is too rotted & corrupt for orthodoxy to be effective.... Reform is the imperative.
Jamaicans have things backwards and don''t realize it 50 years into so called "independence"
Away with this obscene, failed JLPNP Matrix... Social Kontrak NOW!!!!
Memba mi tole unnu datLast edited by Don1; March 27, 2012, 08:34 PM.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Originally posted by Rudi View PostOK now I understand. It is the lack of 2 % growth post 1972 that spawned the development and continuation of Garrisons. However, as you have stated here many times the growth rate from 1962-1972 under the JLPs tenure was much larger than 2%. Given your assertion why did the JLP create the mother of all garrison during this period of exceptional economic growth?TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Poor Ben. The comedian to the end. Come with another argument other than post 1972 growth for the establishment of garrisons. This bigger than you. I do hope that whatever antedote you're working on vis-a-vis the Jamaican economy is successful though.
Can't defend or can't bother to defend again!
Willi is talking nonsense. The fact that police or media were barred form the TG garrison is not as insignificant as he makes it seem. In fact, I would argue that because of that, TG was the ONLY garrison. Maybe the others qualified in terms of elections, but that, again, pales in comparison to the hell-hole that was TG.
Is not just yessiday mi a say suh. Mi tiyad. Mi cyaan do nutten but sigh sometime.
of course mi not talking bout di magnificent growth rates undah di JLP.. mi will tek di 2% from di PNP ovah di 25% and 40% negative...
but gwaan major in di minor.. it might help yuh agenda..
yuh might also want to look at where the growth is occurring... downtown and the environs coulda change drastically producing 2%..
Wheh most ah di Garrisons dem deh ??
But nuh hot up yuh head.. Social Kontrac tuh di wirl !
Social Kontrac cyaan wuk innah Yard povaty.. wi ah nuh one ah dem small island.. man haffi have him Clarkes..
It takes Cash to Care..
Mi get dizzy ah read dis... are you sayin' that 2% growth/annum will be the right tonic or not?
As far as the Social Kontrak goes...trying that can hardly be worse than the previous decades of futility.... if we keep doing the same old things... we'll get the same old outcomes. Expecting different results is not reflective of critical thought is it?
Time for a New ParadigmTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE