Enuff Yappin'.. It's Time to: Engineer a New Jamaica

• Enuff Yappin'.. It's Time to: Engineer a New Jamaica

Schoolers...Whe unnu deh?? ... Digital Yard Train gadderin steam... Toot Toot!

All Aboard!! Tivoli, Haile Selassie, Norman Manley, KC, Wolmaz, Holy Trinity, Green Island, Mocho, Munro, Bridgeport et al ... Engine ah rev up!!

Doan mek dis train leff unnu inna di Station...... Give tanks fi di sharp people who reach out an certain school deh pon di Train areddy...

Afta dis whole heap ah notice mi nuh waan ear nutten fram nuhbaddy wen train leff unnu skool....Memba mi tole unnu
    Is progress fi all wi ah deal wid suh unnu nuh fi mek Don1's seemingly abrasive personality deter unnu..das juss di Rum Bar ting

JC's Golden Griffins Third In Tech Challenge
    Published: Friday | March 23, 20122 Comments

The Jamaica College (JC) robotics team, the Golden Griffins, and their teachers, show off their medals after placing third overall in the FIRST Tech challenge robotics competition in New York last week. JC was the only team from outside the United States of America to enter the competition. - Ian Allen/Photographer
    Daviot Kelly, Staff Reporter

JAMAICA COLLEGE'S robotics team, dubbed the Golden Griffins, finished third out of 72 teams at the recent FIRST Tech Challenge robotics competition.

This was the third time JC was entering the competition, held on March 16 and 17 at the Jacob Javits Convention Centre in Manhattan, New York. Last year, the team finished 12th. JC was the only representative from outside the US.

"It definitely feels good because, after putting in all that hard work, you find you have something to show for it," said a beaming Gavin Samuels, captain of the team.

The competition was divided into two divisions of 36 teams each. Two-team alliances work together to score points and win matches. The JC team's alliances won four of the five matches in the initial round, placing eighth. One of the top four teams picked them to be their partner in the semi-final, which they won, propelling them to the division finals. They, however, lost by three points. JC finished second in its division and third in the overall competition. Samuels said the key this year was coordination.

"This year, by far, we definitely worked better as a team. For example, something was left behind and the way the team came together to ensure it reached before the competition was marvellous," he said. Georgia Rudolph, one of the three teachers who accompanied the 12 boys, was proud of the result.

"Working within the time constraints ... the boys have done extremely well," she said. "They went and saw other robots that they thought would beat them, but we got them calm and they just went out there and really made us proud." She noted that the US teams had already gone through two rounds of competition, so they lacked experience. A lack of networking with other teams before the competition is another area she feels they can improve on.

"We have set up a Facebook page and we'll be liaising with other teams for next year," she said. They will also be entering the junior competition, the First Lego League (FLL), next year.

"We saw them make different attachments for their robots, so we need to work on that for FLL. It looked a little easy, so I think we can win," said junior member Sage Michael Brown. JC will also be returning 10 members of the team for next year, increasing the hope that they will go a step further next time. Rudolph said the team will continue working, honing the skills of the younger boys.

"Even though everybody was not involved in the actual making of the competition robot, everyone will get their opportunity to explore." But what about 'Griffin', the robot they used this year? Well, according to Ricardo Anderson, another faculty team member, they have plans for him. There's a WorldSkills Challenge they're thinking about entering plus there's a 'fun project' of marking out the lines on the school's football field.

"We have to keep it (the interest) going for the year so that, when the competition comes around again in January, we'll be ready. We can't go anywhere but up, so the expectations are now very high." He said he expected a "flood of boys" will want to be part of the programme now, based on the feedback they have been receiving.

FIRST (For Inspiration and Recognition of Science and Technology) was founded in 1989 by American inventor Dean Kamen to assist young people in discovering the excitement and rewards of science and technology.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...ews/news6.html
    Last edited by Don1; March 25, 2012, 08:19 AM.

Congrats JC!

(If only Munro had a little sense and did not kick Ruel to the curb.)

LOL... Ruel is a great leader

But like an iceberg the real heavy lifting is hidden to the onlooker

BTW...Munro ready fi robotics?? Support is available from NCU...juss round di corna.... Plus UTech ave one Mandeville presence ready fi Tun it Up same way

Is nuff Science and Technology career people deh pon the forum, so I expect the queries and questions to be rolling in soon!

Mek me call out some of my long-time "country school" forumites (Mawning Rudi)

Assasin, you nuh have any Titchfield alumni who might be interested in this?

Mdme X, how bout Happy Grove?

Jawge, the diff equations and C++ guru, or Westman the big time engineer, gi we a Cornwall link nuh ?

Karl, you still active in the Mannings community? Or know people from Ruseas or Green Island (which BTW was always one of the more progressive New Secondary schools back in the day)

I know Mosiah must already be working on the Munro thing as we speak

I will check Exile back later since me nuh want to offend him by including Jago with the country schools

Bricktop, ask you Hillel Alumni if dem can cut a check to help out the 99% nuh

I are did not go to Hillel I went to Priory (some bwoy cyaan chat to mi)...my yute goes to Hillel and he has been in a robotics program long time...some man jus come inna dis ting and a beat dem chest round di forum bout "Digital Yard"...late like...

Oh sorry..when you come from country you think all dem uptown school a de same

Me know unoo already set, dats why me just a beg unoo a smalls.

Pay now or pay the youth fe wipe down you pretty car wid a dutty rag later

LOL!

Oh sorry..when you come from country you think all dem uptown school a de same

Me know unoo already set, dats why me just a beg unoo a smalls.

Pay now or pay the youth fe wipe down you pretty car wid a dutty rag later
                bram bram!

In the current system yuh jus haffi worry bout yourself...when Jamaica ready to get serious we can talk...until then I will look out for me and my fambily ongly

OK boss....gwan upgrade the infrastructure in the meantime. We need some more bandwidth a country. You still up inna the hills?

Iman I will say it again. Ja needs to scrap GSAT! Too many of our young creative minds are being cast off for a life of crime, unwanted pregnancy, poverty and despair. How can you tell a twelve year old they won't be anything in life because of an exam? What are the chances of the child in the inner city passing this memory drill?

Tired of seeing young males being cast off with their names on the bullets of the guns of the police. Ja is killing their most creative scientists, engineers, historians, economists, doctors et al.Unlike the JFJ that ignore the cause and tackle the effects. I want to deal with the cause.

JA needs to expand its tertiary base. Some of these community colleges can be expanded and transitioned into full fledged colleges (issuing bachelors and masters). Stop waving over the people's head about not having this subject and that subject. You leave high school based on your grades you attend certain college; if you don't fill the requirements then remedial courses at community colleges then move on. Those without high school diploma take a general exam for high school diploma; if passed you take remedial classes until you are up to speed. Stop labeling the people that they are dunce (as this is a lie) and release the minds of all Jakans.

I know someone who was dead scared of math in Ja. That person is now straight A majoring comp Sci and minoring in mathematics here in the states. Also in a mentor-ship program with a huge investment firm.
                      What if this person had stayed in Ja fearing math and saying I'm no good at the subject? How many of Ja's gifted minds are being killed because of crime or relegated to a life of poverty because of a useless memory drill?

Met a cuban professor of mathematics here and he told me that in cuba kids as young as twelve would volunteer to go in the hills to teach those that cannot read how to read. Now what? Ja has to beg Cuba for expertise.

They need to send some Cubans over here to teach us English

True, where would they start? Thanks.

Don't care where they start...as long as they realise it is gonna be quite a while before they end...

I was thinking about going from top down (uptown to downtown) but surely it can't be long given Ja's population size of under three million. What sayest thou?