some good ole elevator music would fit right in with their image.
what is the thought on this...
but you nuh think the elevator music people coulda sue them too? LOL.
Is not my favorite place, been there before, but I don't think there is a case.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
"It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
We would be Jamaica... Govt
If a filing is made for the mark it would probably be as a geographical indicator... meaning that the origin of the sound and the associated brand identity of the Jamaican (tourism) service it helps to identify... for which IP protection is sought...has historically been developed and used by Jamaica in the marketplace....where Jamaica has spent maybe hundreds of millions of US$ to create the brand identity.
A smart lawyer could make a reasonable case...but would probably lose in my inexpert opinion
Too many long existing precedents to the contrary exist that the defendant could rely onLast edited by Don1; March 23, 2012, 08:09 PM.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
It is not as ludicrous as some would make it seem. But dem not able to think big.
I am sure the MGM people were surprised when, acting on a whim, they succeeded in getting the lion's roar trademarked. How weird is that!
And I am with you, Don1, that it will not be an easy sell, but I don't believe it is impossible. Would it be worth the fight? Probably not. Better to send a raging Portia over to Cayman and threaten them with annexation. But the fact is the combination of Jamaica's indigenous reggae music along with sea, sun and sand should be trademarkable.
Reggae is a music genre first developed in Jamaica in the late 1960s. While sometimes used in a broader sense to refer to most types of Jamaican music, the term reggae more properly denotes a particular music style that originated following on the development of ska and rocksteady.
This was not an ad where a mobile phone was being sold with a reggae jingle. Mobile phones are not intrinsically Jamaican...well, I could come up with a better one later! But you get my point!
Time to start thinking big!