what is the thought on this...

You can't copyright or trademark or claim intellectual rights to a genre of music...

I agree with you, Baddaz!

I actually heard (I wasn't looking at the tv) the ad this morning while getting ready for work. I waited to hear Jamaica at the end but heard Cayman instead. I thought "copycat'.

Later on, I will write a long post about my vacation this year. Planning a Jamaican vacation this year. Cayman was not an option....nor was Barbados, Bahamas nor Tobago. Not supporting any of those small-minded countries.
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Dat and a pack a bubblegum wont get you any satisfacion.

There is no copyright/trademark. Nothing enforcable, so end of story.

Unno all fall into Babylon intellectual property samfie anyway.

Is BABYLON MEK DI RULES FI SUIT DEMSELVES.

"sir?"

It's not an infringement on Jamaica's brand because nobody or no entity can lay legal claim to a genre of music...what is so difficult to understand about that?

I see you have added ""Legal Expert" to your long list of credentials.....

Very Jamaican of you

Long days & nights in di cockpit kunchry enuh bredda...Gamma spen $100,000 US me jus read two book...

as many as two? impressive!
                    Last edited by Gamma; March 23, 2012, 03:36 PM.

A good lawyer can get almost anything trademarked, which is quite different from copyright.

The fact is reggae music is associated with Jamaica, no where else on the planet. Images of Jamaica are conjured up when one hears reggae music, and placed against a tropical setting, it is a clear attempt to steal what is intimately Jamaica.

Anyway, that's for the lawyers, but Baddaz is correct!

If Weird Al can trademark his look, and Clifton Brown the sound "Nobody Canna Cross It", then we can trademark reggae music. Dammit!

Gamma get to it over the weekend and have a report on my desk Monday!

A good lawyer can get almost anything trademarked, which is quite different from copyright.

The fact is reggae music is associated with Jamaica, no where else on the planet. Images of Jamaica are conjured up when one hears reggae music, and placed against a tropical setting, it is a clear attempt to steal what is intimately Jamaica.

Anyway, that's for the lawyers, but Baddaz is correct!

If Weird Al can trademark his look, and Clifton Brown the sound "Nobody Canna Cross It", then we can trademark reggae music. Dammit!

Gamma get to it over the weekend and have a report on my desk Monday!
                        Copyright covers expressions of ideas, trademark covers logos and brand names...once again you cannot copyright or trademark a genre of music...unnuh head tough bad...

so when you trademark Reggae, who own it? What happen to all the other nationalities who have done it?

You realise if somebody trademark R&B and R&B strings nuff reggae couldn't come a road. There are some things that are just no enforceable by law and this is one of them. It wouldn't even make it to courthouse step.

i think yuh mixing up copyright and trademark.

Well you can't trademark it either. You hear what the judge tell Levi Roots?

Only Jamaica can sell their product with Reggae? I know the emotion and pride we have but it couldn't make it anywhere. Question what kinda music should Cayman Island use?

Did Cayman specifically use "Reggae" on a brand or logo? Well then there is no trademark infringement...you probably can't even trademark the word "Reggae"...