what is the thought on this...

The fact is now attorney will waste their time because no country have the right over the other to use REGGAE and that is what unnu argument is based on.

All now di yute cyaan ansa a simple question...fear of self incrimination I suppose.

Anyway mi gi up...tek di winnins

Natty get weary to ********!!

How you a argue case so intelligently and can't say what it based on?

Nobody can't copyright a genre of music and anybody from anywhere can use a genre for what ever they want so your question is not even a question.

How you a argue case so intelligently and can't say what it based on?

Nobody can't copyright a genre of music and anybody from anywhere can use a genre for what ever they want so your question is not even a question.
          wooiiee mi belly!!

because none of you can be specific and tell me what image, trademark or copyright is been infringed upon.

Tell me the basis for the case. Be specific.

You still at it with Englebert & Humperdink? I provided the information blows the idiot argument of if you can copyright a genre of music as well as the issue regarding "...the advertising and the associated BRAND IDENTITY that the style & content of the ad which conjures up in the "average person" a certain image (ie Jamaica) is the key..." out of the water...but dem still keep yapping and yapping...let's see if they can read:

The most prominent examples to copyright’s attitude towards cultural genres are found among literary and dramatic works. In numerous cases standard attributes of a literary or a dramatic genre were held unprotected, being described as “general” or “’stock’ themes”, “clichés” or “generic components”, which “constitute part of the common stock of literary composition”.

Such components include, inter alia, the work’s subject and central theme -- such as “a story of betrayal”, “the-maid-who-marries-the-landlord” narrative, a “police fiction”, or “a story of nuclear smuggling”; its setting (for example: a story taking place in a convent, in the Australian jungle, or in the 41st precinct of the South Bronx), as well as storylines and scenes which typically flow from the central theme or from the genre: Thus, its was held that a gunfight scene in a Western, the crossing-the-border scene in a Spy Thriller film, the arrival of a soldier at a convent during wartime, or a worm-eating scene in a Reality television show – none of them are protected by copyright.

Additional elements which have not been afforded copyright protection are typical and stereotype characters commonly related to the theme, including their cliché characteristics, stereotypical behavior and even their standard dress mode. Thus, the Irish-cop character in police dramas; the tough officer doing things “his-own-way” in the military-fiction genre, the wolf-in-sheep’s-clothing character in a Mystery- Thriller, or the plain language including syntax errors of the male-warrior-hero in he Pulp-Fiction genre were all held not protected by copyright. Similarly it was held that the character of a magician wearing a tuxedo and a hat is “too generic” to enjoy copyright protection, and so is the “Irish father” characterized stereotypically by patriarchism and religiousness.

The narrower protection phenomenon is not confined to the literary and dramatic genres. It can also be observed with respect to musical works. Thus, copyright protection is normally not afforded to song themes such as “a first person love song”, or a song whose subject is “a dance movement typical of the “Rap” genre”. Nor does copyright protect rhythms, harmony which is “achieved according to rules which have been known for many years”, common musical forms such as “verse- chorus-verse-chorus” or an “AABA” construction45. Likewise, it was held that the use of a certain musical key, a common chord progression and popular musical traits such as descending melodic lines do not warrant copyright protection. These non-protected elements have been described as “most common in all of the music of Western civilization”, “most common in Country music”, “too common”, “extremely common in the pop rock genre” as well as in “Eastern European folk music” or plainly “common to the genre”. Case law further indicates that a claim to copyright in a musical genre in its entirety is also likely to fail.

Finally, while there is little explicit discussion of genres in the category of “artistic works”, a few cases do demonstrate that generic features of artistic works are also likely to enjoy lesser copyright protection. Thus, it was held that lighting, angle and choice of subject that are typical to the “realistic” style used in menu photographing are not protected by copyright. Nor does copyright protect elements dictated by “the conventions of the commercial product shot...

yes Brickie. Stick it to them. How can they counter this?

No I cannot be specific...neither can you because you have zero competence in the field.... but of course you can pretend to be competent if that pleases you

Or...you and any other who is being definitive about this likkle matta...unnu cyan show mi unnu law degree fuss...and unnu expertise in the highly specialized IP field

Posting sections of opinions from unknown sources, unknown jurisdiction, of unknown expertise, unknown relevance to the pertinent matter and unknown currency in law... dat nuh cut it.... except for the shallow minded

Anyway enuff ah dis... mi ave betta tings fi deal wid

Fulljoy yuh nite Big Man
                  Last edited by Don1; March 24, 2012, 08:53 PM.

Mosiah will avoid the thread...and Don2 will start talking about "Chris" & crocodiles

• and he is still demonstrating that he has not understood your, or my, point! but him not even see dat!

• Mi dun talk!

• Because I don't have any basis, when you guys can tell me what exactly you going use as the basis then I will keep my opinion, I don't have to be an IP attorney.

• I have already explained my position. And it has nothing to do with genre per se. Go thru my posts one by one, they aren't that many, if you want to see my views on the matter.

• I usually dun talking when my face get kick off too...hush

• what else did they infringed on????.

look at their ads over the years, what else is unique to Jamaica in that ad?

Tell me two things other than the reggae music.

oh by the way one of our iconic Jamaican ad had a Trini lady posing with Jamaica on it.